2018 Scribe Awards Announced!

iamtwYesterday at Comic-con International in San Diego, the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers (IAMTW) held the annual “Scribe Awards,” which celebrates excellence in the field of writing licensed works that tie into other media such as television, movies, gaming, or comic books. They include original works set in established universes, and adaptations of stories that have appeared in these other formats, and which include every genre from mainstream police procedurals to science fiction, fantasy, and horror to romance.

Here’s the complete list of nominees, with the winner in each category in bold.

The Twelfth Annual Scribe Awards

Short Story (tie!)
Joe Ledger: “Ganbatte” by Keith DeCandido
Planet of the Apes: “Banana Republic” by Jonathan Maberry
Planet of the Apes: “Pacing Place” by Bob Mayer
Planet of the Apes: “Murderers’ Row” by John Jackson Miller
 “Rear Guard” by Sarah Stegall
Predator: “Storm Blood” by Peter Wacks and David Boop

Adapted Speculative and General
Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Christie Golden
Doctor Who: The Pirate Planet by James Goss
Kong: Skull Island by Tim Lebbon
Resident Evil: The Final Chapter by Tim Waggoner

Original Speculative
The Librarians and the Mother Goose Chase by Greg Cox

Halo: Legacy of Onyx by Matt Forbeck
Star Wars Battlefront II: Inferno Squad by Christie Golden
Star Trek: Discovery: Desperate Hours by David Mack
Supernatural: The Usual Sacrifices by Yvonne Navarro
Interface Zero: Solar Singularity by Peter J. Wacks, Guy Anthony Demarco, and Josh Vogt

Original General
Don Pendleton’s The Executioner: Fatal Prescription by Michael A. Black

Robert B. Parker’s The Hangman’s Sonnet: A Jesse Stone Novel by Reed Farrel Coleman
The Will to Kill by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins

Young Adult Original
Warriors Three: Godhood’s End by Keith R. A. DeCandido
X-Files Origins: Devil’s Advocate by Jonathan Maberry
Star Wars: Adventures in Wild Space – The Cold  by Cavan Scott

Doctor Who: Across the Darkened City by David Bartlett
Doctor Who: Cold Vengeance by Matt Fitton
Warhammer 40,000: Agent of the Throne, Blood and Lies by John French
Torchwood: Cascade by Scott Handcock
Torchwood: The Dying Room by Lizzie Hopley

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees, especially to my good friend Greg Cox, who not only won this year for his Librarians novel but also received from IAMTW the Faust Award, elevating him to Grandmaster status within our little cabal. He now stands alongside previous recipients Alan Dean Foster, Terrance Dicks, William Johnston, Diane Duane, Donald Bain, Kevin J. Anderson, Ann Crispin, Peter David, Keith R.A. DeCandido, and Christie Golden.

Many thanks to the judges and the rest of the IAMTW membership for continuing to sponsor the Scribes and for helping to shine some light and attention on an oft-overlooked and unappreciated corner of the publishing world.

Lay it on me.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s