Happy 30th Anniversary, Star Trek: The Next Generation!

“YOU SHUT YOUR MOUTH, DAYTON!”

Sorry, folks, but it’s true. 30 years ago, tonight.

I’ve told this story before, but on September 28th, 1987, I watched Star Trek: The Next Generation‘s premiere episode, “Encounter at Farpoint,” in the TV room of my barracks at Camp Pendleton. The room was stuffed with Marines, and maybe it was because of the beer, but we all stayed to watch the whole thing.

While “Farpoint” certainly had its problems, it was Star Trek, by golly. And, it was new Star Trek, and little did we know at the time what that really meant.

Anybody remember this bit, which ran before the episode?

Man. How time flies.

So, yeah. The show got off to something of a rocky start, and took a while to find its footing. Still, even with this first episode, it was easy to see the potential in this new show. A big part of that is due to Patrick Stewart, who carried much of the load that first year and who as Captain Jean-Luc Picard brought a gravitas to the series which helped us forgive some of the hokier storylines. The other actors soon settled into their roles, of course, in time becoming a comfortable ensemble and even a family. By its third season, the show established itself as a worthy bearer of the Star Trek torch.

Seven television seasons, four feature films, and merchandising out the wazoo, including a whole bunch of novels published by Pocket Books. As one of those responsible for foisting more than a few of those on an unsuspecting public, I’ve always enjoyed my time spent with Captain Picard and his merry band. Here’s hoping they let me do a few more.

Happy 30th Anniversary, Star Trek: The Next Generation. Go. Go see what’s out there.

TNG-season1cast

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in fandom, nerdity, trek, tributes, tv, youtube. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy 30th Anniversary, Star Trek: The Next Generation!

  1. Daniel says:

    Yikes. 30 years ago?!
    I remember sitting in the screening room of the entertainment company I worked for in Hollywood, with about 25 others, including some of the company’s leaders, to watch that premiere. My friend was the A/V guru and he’d been working for a week to make sure he could get the television projected to the ‘big’ screen (it wasn’t like today, of course, with HDMI cables and all that). We were all excited and felt like we were in on something special.

    And yes, I remember that ad before the show.

    Like

  2. Gary Lum says:

    As far as I know, that clip never played in Australia. Thanks for sharing. It gave me goosebumps.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue Hutchings says:

    Thirty years ago tonight, I was watching the first episode of a new Star Trek show. I was giving it a shot to see if I’d like it, then Dr. McCoy showed up. “Okay, I’m in,” I decided.
    In future episodes James Doohan/Scotty and Leonard Nimoy/Spock and Mark Lenard/Sarek (Spock’s dad) would show up. And those, plus the one with Mark Twain, are still my favourites.
    DeForest Kelley as Dr. Leonard ‘Bones’ McCoy, speaking of the new ship ‘Enterprise’: “It’s a new ship, but she’s got the right name. Now you remember that, you hear? You treat her like a lady… And she’ll always bring you home.”

    Liked by 1 person

Lay it on me.

