Today is “National Read A Book Day!”

I think every day should be this, but apparently someone somewhere felt the need to call out today, September 6th, as the officially recognized, annually recurring “National Read A Book Day.”

(For those wondering, today is also “National Coffee Ice Cream Day,” but the people who like that shit are savages, so enough about them.)

Anyway, the book thing is a good idea. In the spirit of the day, and my fervent desire to spend it reading pretty much anything other the manuscript on which I’m currently working, I offer up a list of books which have stuck with me over the years for one reason or another. It’s a list that includes favorites dating back to childhood, along with more recent titles that I’ve enjoyed or just hit the perfect spot or note when I needed a break from the crazy routine that is my daily life. This isn’t meant to be an inclusive list, so don’t worry that I “forgot” one of your personal favorites. Anyway, check it out:

18893076_10155414358483270_747114380365486877_nCyborg – Martin Caidin
A Man On the Moon – Andrew Chaikin
The Hunt for Red October – Tom Clancy
Ready Player One
– Ernest Cline
Sunglasses After Dark – Nancy A. Collins
Vertical Run – Joseph R. Garber
The Firm – John Grisham
The Forever War – Joe Haldeman
Starship Troopers – Robert A. Heinlein
A Night to Remember – Walter Lord
I Am Legend – Richard Matheson
The Things They Carried – Tim O’Brien
Old Man’s War – John Scalzi
Homicide: A Year On the Killing Streets – David Simon
One Day In the Life of Ivan Denisovich – Alexander Solzhenitsyn
Martians Abroad – Carrie Vaughn
The Martian – Andy Weir
The War of the Worlds – H.G. Wells
The Making of Star Trek – Stephen E. Whitfield and Gene Roddenberry
The Right Stuff – Tom Wolfe

Feel free to offer up suggestions or favorites in the comments. Go!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, lists, ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today is “National Read A Book Day!”

  1. Murray Moore says:

    Hey I like coffee ice cream.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, coffee ice cream is the only ice cream worth having and, I might add, a favorite of Captain Janeway’s–though her book and literary tastes were dubious.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Terry J. Erdmann says:

    May I suggest the amazing “Ragtime” by E.L. Doctorow. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sue Hutchings says:

    Chocolate ice cream is the best. I am currently reading 3 books: Tanya Huff’s “Three Quarters”, & your book “Star Trek: TOS: That Which Divides”. I am also listening to the audio book of Robert Heinlein’s “Methuselah’s Children” whilst driving about in my car. Love all of them!

    Liked by 1 person

Lay it on me.

