The somewhat tardy June writing wrap-up.

all-the-wordsWait. It’s already July 5th? What happened to the first four days?

Hell. What happened to June?

Oh, it was that blur in my mirrors.

June wasn’t quite as hectic as May, but I still ended up spinning several plates. I’ll be honest, in that sometimes it feels a bit overwhelming to juggle multiple projects. There are times when I can’t decide what to work on, or which one deserves heightened attention, and so on. Sure, deadlines help with that, but what if you have more than one thing due around the same time? I can’t speak for others, but I tend to work at knocking out the smaller, less complicated stuff first before turning my full attention to the bigger target in my sights. That approach works more than it doesn’t. Your mileage may vary.

So, what did all of that juggling get me during June? Have a look at the monthly rundown:

Unidentified Tie-In Project – The main focus of my attention and energy from March through May. I delivered the manuscript on May 22nd, and received feedback from my editor and the licensor on June 20th. I’ve got a couple of things to get off my plate first, and then I’ll be turning the bulk of my attention to this so that I can accomplish the requested edits/rewrites and get it back to my editor…hopefully sooner rather than later.

Another Unidentified Tie-In Project  The first of two new assignments I received during June. This one came pretty much out of nowhere, as I was contacted around the 2nd, signed a contract a week later, and had an approved outline ten days after that. BOOM! Off we go. My deadline for delivering the manuscript is July 28th, and is one of those “Too fun to pass up”-type things that A) promises to be a lot of fun, and B) may well lead to more work of this sort. Details to follow!

And Another Unidentified Tie-In Project The second of June’s two new additions to my “To Do List.” This is one I’ve known was (likely) coming for a while, but we didn’t get down to brass tacks with contracts and stuff until mid-month. I’m in the midst of finalizing an outline this week, and will hopefully get it out the door before I board the plane for Shore Leave. As with the other project, this one also has an aggressive schedule, but I’m confident I can hit my mark. It also promises to be great fun, with an opportunity for more work…assuming I don’t screw this one up. No pressure, right?

Star Trek Adventures Role Playing Game – After working with the folks at Modiphius during last fall and early winter to provide backstory material that will help flesh out the game’s core rulebook as well as drive this new game’s “living playtest campaign,” I hadn’t been doing much as that part of the development and testing process got underway in earnest. However, I was able to provide a bit of new material for use in communicating “in-universe” updates to players involved in the living campaign. There’s been some discussion about future contributions to one or two of the game’s supplemental source books, but my current schedule precludes me from diving too deeply into it just now. Still, I’m looking forward to having a bit more fun in this corner of the Star Trek sandbox once I get some free (HAH!) time.

 

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Yet Another Unidentified Tie-In Project – I signed a contract back on March 7th, and I delivered an outline to my editor on April 28th. I’m still awaiting editor and licensing feedback on this, so that I can get started. I can’t get going on the manuscript without that approval, but as you’ve likely figured out by now…I’ve got plenty to keep me busy. Stay tuned!

Hidden Universe Travel Guides – Star Trek: The Klingon Empire – It’s all over but the waiting. I’m happy to report that Livio Ramondelli and Peter Markowski, who provided all of those amazing illustrations for the Vulcan guide, were able to work their magic for this new book. It’s currently set for publication on July 18th in trade paperback and e-Book formats, but attendees of this weekend’s Shore Leave convention in Hunt Valley, Maryland will have a chance to snag an early copy.

Maximum Velocity: The Best of Full-Throttle Space Tales – As the name implies, this will be a collection of the very best stories from the six-volume Full-Throttle Space Tales anthology series originally published by Flying Pen Press. The five editors from the original series – including moi – have come together to select what we think are the stories that best represent the anthologies, and this “Best of” collection is being published by WordFire Press. Whether this leads to all-new Full-Throttle Space Tales anthologies, remains to be seen, but here’s hoping! At last report, the book is slated for publication later this month.

Recon” – Short story for If It Bleeds, an anthology tying into the Predator franchise. Writer/Editor Bryan Thomas Schmidt has commissioned 16 all-new tales featuring everybody’s favorite race of intergalactic big game hunters. The stories in this new collection will show Predators on Earth at different points in history, as well as taking their hunts to far-flung worlds. I received a copyedited manuscript back from Bryan on May 21st, and returned my corrections to him on the 27th. Next up? Typeset pages for review/proofing. If It Bleeds is currently slated for publication on October 17th.

Possible future projects:

And Still Another Unidentified Tie-In Project – After thinking this idea was dead, I was pleasantly surprised just before Christmas to hear from the editor to whom I’d pitched this thing. They told me they’d reconsidered going forward with it, and now it looks like we’re back on! I’m actually due to touch base with my editor on this, to see where we are. If this goes forward, it’s gonna be hella fun, and I can’t wait to talk more about it. Mwuah-ah-ah.

Original SF novel concept – Something I’d started a while back, refreshed some older notes and added some new ones. Once I knock out the other outlines that are ahead of it in the queue, I’ll be continuing to work on fleshing out this concept so that I can approach at least one editor with it.

Original e-Book concept – I’ve been pondering an idea for a new series – something akin to the “men’s adventure” style books I loved back in the 80s and 90s. It would be a setting for which I could write shorter tales – novellas, likely – for e-Book distribution. It would be something of an SF-ish/action bent, with (I hope) lots of humor. Not quite campy, but definitely lighter in tone. This is still very rough at the moment, but it’s something I’d really like to get into once I get some free time (HAH! HAH AGAIN!).

So, yeah, we’re already ankle deep in July, so I should probably get back to work.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

