Headlong Flight and Hearts and Minds audiobooks. Okay, NOW they’re real.

Thanks to a very helpful lady at Simon & Schuster Audio, I now have in my possession some nice, old-fashioned CD versions for the audiobook editions of my two most recent novels.

Trek-TNG-Audiobooks

Aren’t they pretty?

For those of you who’ve tuned in late, Simon & Schuster began offering audiobook editions of Star Trek novels last summer, with the release of the Legacies trilogy written to celebrate Star Trek‘s 50th anniversary. This was followed by audio editions of John Jackson Miller‘s Prey trilogy and The Face of the Unknown by Christopher L. Bennett.

Next up? Headlong Flight and…as it happens…Hearts and Minds.

Now, it’s important to note that these new audiobooks are being offered commercially as digital downloads from places like Audible, iTunes, etc. The CD editions are being manufactured for special sales situations such as libraries and the like. So, you won’t be able to find “physical media” versions of these for sale anywhere.

All of these most recent additions to the Star Trek audiobook library are narrated by actor Robert Petkoff, a self-professed Trekkie who really seems to be enjoying himself with these projects. At least, I think so, just as I think his love of Trek comes through in his readings.

It’s been quite the treat having our books adapted in this manner, and fans seem to be responding well to them. I don’t know how the sales are, but I’ve got my fingers crossed that we’re just at the beginning of what will be a long string of new Star Trek we can all stick in our ears.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got about 20 hours worth of stuff to listen to…assuming my wife doesn’t beat me to these, of course.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Headlong Flight and Hearts and Minds audiobooks. Okay, NOW they’re real.

  1. David Powell says:

    Do you have any input about who the reader is?

    Like

Lay it on me.

