April writing wrap-up.

all-the-wordsAaaaaaaaaaaaand just like that? BAM! We’re a third of the way through 2017.

2017.

We’re, like, a year or so away from the launch of the seaQuest DSV, and two years away from going full-on Blade Runner, man.

Not here at stately Ward Manor, of course. Here, we’ve so far managed to avoid giant submarines and dystopian futures filled with robots who want to kill us. Here, it’s just writing, writing, and more writing.

April was fairly busy on a couple of fronts, both with the current novel in-progress and the outline for what will (hopefully) be the novel I write after that. There also are a couple of other things on different burners, but as with anything else in this business, things tend to move slower than I’d like, and……

Wait. I’m about to bore you with a whole drawn-out, blow-by-blow recounting of the month’s activities, so maybe I should just get on with that. Here’s the April rundown:

Unidentified Tie-In Project – The main focus of my attention and energy from now until May 22nd or so. I’m not yet able to share any details, pending official announcements or whatever else is involved. More info once I’m given the go-ahead by the People Pulling the Strings.

Another Unidentified Tie-In Project – I signed a contract back on March 7th, and I delivered an outline to my editor on April 28th. I was honestly thinking this one wouldn’t happen, and I’m rather happy to be wrong. As with the other big thing on my plate, I’m not yet able to share anything in the way of info. Stay tuned!

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Hearts and Minds – A Star Trek: The Next Generation novel, set after the events of Headlong Flight, which came out in January. Everything on my end for this one is pretty much done, and I’m just waiting to see my author copies before it hits shelves on or about May 30th in paperback, e-Book, and audiobook editions.

Maximum Velocity: The Best of Full-Throttle Space Tales – As the name implies, this will be a collection of the very best stories from the six-volume Full-Throttle Space Tales anthology series originally published by Flying Pen Press. The five editors from the original series – including moi – have come together to select what we think are the stories that best represent the anthologies, and this “Best of” collection is being published by WordFire Press. Whether this leads to all-new Full-Throttle Space Tales anthologies, remains to be seen, but here’s hoping! So far, the book remains on track for a June publication.

Hidden Universe Travel Guides – Star Trek: The Klingon Empire – Everything’s been laid out, and we’ve been taking care of final edits and tweaks. I was corresponding with my editor over the past weekend, helping to address a few dangling points  before this one heads to the printer. I’m happy to report that Livio Ramondelli and Peter Markowski, who provided all of those amazing illustrations for the Vulcan guide, were able to work their magic for this new book. It’s currently set for publication on July 17th. More details, including a final cover, still to come!

Star Trek Adventures Role Playing Game – After working with the folks at Modiphius during last fall and early winter to provide backstory material that will help flesh out the game’s core rulebook as well as drive this new game’s “living playtest campaign,” I hadn’t been doing much as that part of the development and testing process got underway in earnest. But then I was contacted at the end of March about writing up some new material for one of the game’s supplemental source books. I’m still waiting to hear back about some details, but it looks like I’m going to have a bit more fun in this corner of the Star Trek sandbox.

Recon” – Short story for If It Bleeds, an anthology tying into the Predator franchise. Writer/Editor Bryan Thomas Schmidt has commissioned 16 all-new tales featuring everybody’s favorite race of intergalactic big game hunters. The stories in this new collection will show Predators on Earth at different points in history, as well as taking their hunts to far-flung worlds. I delivered my story on February 1st, and made a few quick changes later that same day based on editorial feedback. Now we’re just waiting for approvals and copyedits. If It Bleeds is currently slated for publication on October 17th.

And Another Unidentified Tie-In Project – I was contacted out of the blue back in August about possibly writing a novel set in a franchise that’s new to me, but has its own group of devoted followers. I worked up an outline between Thanksgiving and Christmas, and sent it to its editor back on December 23rd. I’ve been lobbing emails in that direction to find out what’s what, but so far I appear to be in a holding pattern. Hopefully I’ll hear something soon.

Still Another Unidentified Tie-In Project – After thinking this idea was dead, I was pleasantly surprised just before Christmas to hear from the editor to whom I’d pitched this thing. They told me they’d reconsidered going forward with it, and now it looks like we’re back on! I touched base with my editor on this a few weeks ago, and we’ll likely be talking about it during May at some point. If this goes forward, it’s gonna be hella fun, and I can’t wait to talk more about it. Mwuah-ah-ah.

Possible future projects:

Original SF novel concept – Something I’d started a while back, refreshed some older notes and added some new ones. Once I knock out the other outlines that are ahead of it in the queue, I’ll be continuing to work on fleshing out this concept so that I can approach at least one editor with it.

Original e-Book concept – I’ve been pondering an idea for a new series – something akin to the “men’s adventure” style books I loved back in the 80s and 90s. It would be a setting for which I could write shorter tales – novellas, likely – for e-Book distribution. It would be something of an SF-ish/action bent, with (I hope) lots of humor. Not quite campy, but definitely lighter in tone. This is still very rough at the moment, but it’s something I’d really like to get into once I (HAH!) get some free time.

May also has in store for me a trip to Ticonderoga, the kids getting out of school, and a whirlwind vacation down in Florida with my sister and her family. So, the month should fly by pretty quickly. Before we know it we’ll be in June, which has its own special brand of humor planned for me, as that’s the month that’s currently holding my 50th birthday in its back pocket.

Come at me, bro.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April writing wrap-up.

  1. David Powell says:

    Always hoping for Firefly tie-ins, but whatever the new ones are, no doubt they’ll be shiny and move the universe forWard.

    Like

Lay it on me.

