“Ten for Ward” #18 at StarTrek.com: 10 Star Trek Books I Wish I’d Written.

And so the good, innocent folk over at StarTrek.com asked me yet again to provide a new column, having obviously failed to heed the lessons of articles past. Because of that error in judgment, I was once again afforded the opportunity to pollute their virtual space with yet another installment of my irregularly recurring series for them, “Ten for Ward.”

For those of you new to this phenomenon, the premise is pretty simple: Every so often, I’m invited to provide a list of ten favorite (and hopefully interesting) Trek-related whatevers based on…well…whatever I can come up with at the time my editor tosses a treat into my cage and asks for a new column.

This time, I let juuuuuuuuuuust a teeny bit of jealousy peek out from behind the curtain, and compiled a list of Star Trek books of various flavors where I thought the premise and/or finished product was so cool that I honestly wish I’d written it myself. There have been many such books, Trek and otherwise, over the years, but I had to keep this list to ten (Hence the name. See what I did there?), otherwise we’d be here all day. For example:

trek-or-treat

Trek or Treat, by Terry Flanagan & Eleanor Ehrhardt – Decades before the internet would make memes and other funny pictures a bedrock component of our everyday online lives, there was this tome from 1977. Photos taken from TOS episodes get humorous captions, most of which are admittedly silly, but I DON’T CARE. This is an idea that demands revisiting and updating, by golly, and I’m your guy. So far as I’m concerned, this is the ONLY canon Star Trek book.

Check out the rest of the list — which includes shout-outs friends Paula Block, Terry Erdmann, David Mack, Greg Cox, Dean Wesley Smith, Paul Ruditis, and Rick Sternbach over at StarTrek.com:

Ten for Ward #18: 10 Star Trek Books I Wish I’d Written

You can also check out all of my “Ten for Ward” columns just by clicking on this logo-ish looking thing right here:

So, what do you think? Some other book(s) I should’ve listed, but didn’t? Or, maybe there’s a Star Trek book you wish you’d written? Let me know in the comments, here or over at the article itself.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, lists, startrek.com, ten for ward, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

