It’s time for an “Ask Dayton Anything” thing. 

Why? Because I’m wrestling with updates to a novel outline and it’s making my brain and teeth hurt. I also have another outline that wants attention, and another one after that. 

Because outlines, I guess. 

Okay, here’s the deal: Ask me anything, if you’re so inclined, and I’ll do my best to provide a brief yet thoughtful answer. If I can’t conjure such a reply, you’ll instead receive a wise-assed comment, created just for you! It’s sort of like an “AMA” over on reddit, but without the requirement of me needing to shower afterward to get the reddit off of me.

Also, this little exercise shouldn’t be confused with the “Ask Dayton” bits that I do every so often over at the G&T Show. The guy who answers those queries is a rather surly dick who likes to growl and snap his way through whatever oddball questions the show’s listeners throw his way. While that guy looks like me, sounds like me, and has the same name as me, we’re two totally different people. Really.

Asker’s choice, so far as the topic goes. We can talk about writing, pop culture bullshit, deep thoughtful musings on the duality of man and the blurred line between good and evil, the tragedy of a show like Full House getting a Netflix renewal while Firefly fans are left sleeping in the wet spot, whatever.

I reserve the right not to answer anything I deem too personal or inappropriate for this particular venue, but this is a rule I’ve never actually had to invoke. Still, it never hurts to make such things clear up front.

Okey-dokey, then. Who’s got a question?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in ask dayton, friends, q&a. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s time for an “Ask Dayton Anything” thing. 

  1. Matt Sullivan says:

    Why Kansas City?

    Like

  2. What’s one genre you’ve never written in? Why is it getting the cold shoulder?

    Like

  3. Paul Nied says:

    What’s your gut say about the continued delays of ST Discovery?

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I have to wonder if there was a bit of unrealistic expectation with respect to ramping up a new Trek series basically from scratch. The last time that was done was 1986. The current crew didn’t have the benefit of an established infrastructure the way DS9, Voyager, and Enterprise did.

      That said, all the craziness at the top’s been sorted out, and they’re filming. I’d rather they take the time to do it right, instead of rushing it. I can be patient. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mark Risney says:

    Any chance Titan’s dabbling in Planet of the Apes could lead to novel length work? I wouldn’t mind seeing that Ward guy throw out a couple of novels with Burke, Virdon and Co. Liked “Headlong Flight” too.

    Like

  5. Loved Headlong Flight. Visiting old friends. Think we’ll get Next Generation novels for awhile in the mode of “just out there exploring”? We can hardly have yet another war this generation! The potential at this point for more cross-over into Voyager, Titan, Deep Space Nine characters or stories is fun to consider, too.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I have another TNG novel coming later this year that’s largely a standalone tale. Voyager is doing its own thing right now. There are occasional crossovers with DS9 and Titan, and I can’t imagine there won’t be more down the line.

      Like

Lay it on me.

