January writing wrap-up.

all-the-wordsSo, 2017 is off and running, eh?

Things are cruising along on a few fronts, but a common theme at the moment is that I can’t really talk about things currently in the pipeline. I’m hoping some official announcements will be coming, so that I can start blabbing about them. I guess we’ll see.

Meanwhile, I’ll keep on keepin’ on. So, here’s a look back at what went down during January.

“Message In A Bottle” – Short story for Planet of the Apes: Tales from the Forbidden Zone. One of 16 all-new stories set in the continuity of the five classic Planet of the Apes films as well as the two follow-on television series. My story features the characters from the 1974 live-action TV series, for which I confess to having a huge soft spot. The book went on sale in trade paperback and eBook formats on January 24th, and so far the reviews and feedback has been tremendously positive. Yay, us!

Headlong Flight: A Star Trek: The Next Generation novel set after the events of Armageddon’s Arrow as well as the Prey trilogy that was released during October-December 2016 by fellow word pusher John Jackson Miller. The book went on sale on the 31st, in mass-market, eBook, and audiobook formats.

“Recon” – Short story for If It Bleeds, an anthology tying into the Predator franchise. Writer/Editor Bryan Thomas Schmidt has commissioned 16 all-new tales featuring everybody’s favorite race of intergalactic big game hunters. The stories in this new collection will show Predators on Earth at different points in history, as well as taking their hunts to far-flung worlds. I delivered my story on February 1st. Now we’re just waiting for approvals and copyedits. If It Bleeds is slated for publication on October 17th.

Hearts and Minds: Another Star Trek: The Next Generation novel. I reviewed the first pass pages during back in mid-January and returned my edits and notes on the 21st. The book is still on track for publication on or about Tuesday, May 30th. More info as we get closer!

Hidden Universe Travel Guides – Star Trek: The Klingon Empire: We’re deep in the art stage. I’d already provided notes on some of the art and sent those notes back on the 23rd, and as I write this I have a version of the full, laid-out manuscript to review and make any corrections or notes. I’m happy to report that Livio Ramondelli and Peter Markowski, who provided all of those amazing illustrations for the Vulcan guide, were available for a this latest outing. The book is currently set for publication on July 17. More details as we keep pushing forward!

Unidentified Tie-In Project: I was contacted out of the blue back in August about possibly writing a novel set in a franchise that’s new to me, but has its own group of devoted followers. I worked up an outline between Thanksgiving and Christmas, and sent it to its editor back on December 23rd. Assuming we go forward, I’ll probably start writing the book in late spring, because…..

Another Unidentified Tie-In Project: I’ve already signed a contract for this book, and I delivered an outline back on the 16th. After getting back some notes, I’m in the process of revising my story idea. If all goes to plan, I should be able to start writing the novel later this month, with an eye toward a late April/early May delivery date. More info once I’m given the green light to talk about it.

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Planet of the Apes essay for Sequart: Those Sequart guys just never learn their lesson. This time, I wrote about the live-action Apes television series for a new collection of essays which will bear the rather snappy title Bright Eyes, Ape City: Examining the Planet of the Apes Mythos. I received the typeset pages for my essay back on November 20th, and returned my final corrections to editor Joe Berenato that same day. We found out just yesterday that the book is set for publication in late January or early February, so W00t!

Star Trek Adventures Role Playing Game: I’ve actually been involved with this for quite a while, but the formal announcement only dropped on December 1st. I was approached by the game’s publishers back in the late summer about maybe writing fiction to go with the game materials, but then things took a crazy turn. With the assistance of friend and fellow writer Scott Pearson, who’s acting as something of a continuity cop for everything, I ended up helping to develop a storyline that will drive the game’s “living playtest” over the next several months as the rules and mechanics are refined. Just this past week, I also provided some additional material for possible use in the game’s core rule book. For more info on Star Trek Adventures, click that link, yo!

And Another Unidentified Tie-In Project: I unexpectedly heard back about this project on October 26th and it appears this is another one that’s going forward! We’re working out contract and deadline details now, and I’ve got an outline that’s just about ready to deliver to its editor. However, this one may also take a back seat to the project which will dominate my first quarter of 2017. I was honestly thinking this one wouldn’t happen, and I’m rather happy to be wrong. I heard just this past week that things are moving ahead, albeit slowly. I may know more after this coming week. As with the other “Unidentifieds,” I’ll be able to share more info as things  get ironed out, firmed up, signed, and so on.

Still Another Unidentified Tie-In Project: After thinking this idea was dead, I was pleasantly surprised to hear back a few weeks ago from the editor to whom I’d pitched this thing. They told me they’d reconsidered going forward with it, and now it looks like we’re back on! I just got an update about a couple of weeks ago, that it’s still on my editor’s radar. If this goes forward, it’s gonna be hella fun, and I can’t wait to talk more about it. Mwuah-ah-ah.

Possible future projects:

Original SF novel concept: Something I’d started a while back, refreshed some older notes and added some new ones. Once I knock out the other outlines that are ahead of it in the cue, I’ll be continuing to work on fleshing out this concept so that I can approach at least one editor with it.

Original e-Book concept: I’ve been pondering an idea for a new series – something akin to the “men’s adventure” style books I loved back in the 80s and 90s. It would be a setting for which I could write shorter tales – novellas, likely – for e-Book distribution. It would be something of an SF-ish/action bent, with (I hope) lots of humor. Not quite campy, but definitely lighter in tone. This is still very rough at the moment, but it’s something I’d really like to get into once I (HAH!) get some free time.

All right, February. Let’s to this.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

