An Animated review with Saturday Morning Trek!

startrek-tas-titlecardHey, whaddaya know? I’m babbling again.

This time, I join Aaron Harvey, host of Saturday Morning Trek, Trek.fm’s podcast devoted to the animated Star Trek television series. On this occasion, we hung out to talk a bit about the recently released Blu-ray “complete series” set, and to reminisce about the show itself.

I’m old enough that I was able to watch the show first-run on Saturday mornings during 1973-74. In the days before home video, it was a rare occasion to happen across the series, as it did not enjoy the same level of rerun exposure as the original series (which was on tas_castpretty much everywhere in the 1970s and 1980s). There were the novelizations of the episodes, adapted by Alan Dean Foster, and some of the merchandising during the 70s definitely took cues from the show (puzzles, toys, games, and other items either utilized or were inspired by imagery from the series), but watching the actual episodes in rerun was a challenge until Nickelodeon started running them at some point.

Then came home video, with the series tas-laserdisceventually being released on VHS and LaserDisc in the 80s and 90s, followed by a complete series DVD set in the mid 2000s, followed by the most recent incarnation, an HD Blu-ray set released last fall as part of the Star Trek 50th anniversary celebration.

(Check out that crazy 90s artwork. I mean….the hell, people?)

Anyway, it’s the Blu-ray set we’re talking about now, and Aaron invited me to sit down and wax nostalgic about our mutual love for this quirky little slice of the Star Trek mythos. We’re both collectors of animated Trek merch, and though Aaron has me beat in this department, I do have a couple of animation cels and a few other doo-dads stashed here and there. But, how do these new Blu-rays stack up? Is it a step too far so far as preserving this bit of 70s cartoon goodness? You can probably guess our answer, though I don’t know that we let the show and the set completely off the hook. Don’t take my word for it, though. Instead, check it out for yourself:

Trek.fm – Saturday Morning Trek #24: Blu-Rays and Pink Tribbles

smt-tas-blurays

Many thanks to Aaron and the rest of the Trek.fm gang for having me on!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in fandom, friends, interviews, podcasts, reviews, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Animated review with Saturday Morning Trek!

  1. Mark says:

    A fun show to watch. Took me a long time to track down this Chicago Tribune tv guide with TAS cover https://goo.gl/photos/2hB5RRq16Pw2aBK67

    Like

  2. Forrice says:

    I too seen the show in reruns in the early 80’s. Now I have it DVD…..I found out about the blu-ray a year or so later. I’m okay with it.

    Like

Lay it on me.

