Hey, wait. I’ve got my own “writer-versary,” this month!

I guess I’m getting old, and forgetful.

A reader e-Mailed me this evening, responding to my blog post from last week about the “50th anniversary” of Star Trek fiction. What’s that? You didn’t read it? Well, here: Let me provide you with a handy link.

You’re welcome.

Anyway, my loyal reader was also kind enough to remind me that I’m celebhonor-coverrating my own little anniversary, this month. Why? It was January 2002, fifteen years ago, that my first novel was published. As it happens, it was a Star Trek novel, In the Name of Honor, and kinda set in motion what’s become something of a recurring theme in my writerly life.

Those of you familiar with my secret origin story know that this first novel came about after I sold short stories to each of the first three Star Trek: Strange New Worlds anthologies. Upon rendering myself ineligible to compete in future contests, then-Star Trek fiction editor John Ordover asked if I was interested in writing a full-length novel for him.

Having never written anything longer than a short story before, of course I said, “Yes,” and the rest…as they say…is a frappin’ mystery.

(Takeaway: All of this is John’s fault.)

Since then, I’ve been afforded some incredibly fun opportunities – things I likely would never have done if not for those SNW contests and this first novel. I met the dude who would become my best friend and frequent writing partner, Kevin Dilmore, but I’ve also befriended so man other people – writers, fans and fellow Star Trek enthusiasts, people involved with the various Star Trek television series and films (and a few non-Trek, productions, as well), and even a couple of honest-to-goodness astronauts.

My world has gotten weird, on occasion.

I’d like to think I’ve written better books since In the Name of Honor, and indeed when I flip through the pages this one every so often, I cringe a little here and there. That said, and while I can’t honestly point to any one of my books and call it my “favorite,” this one obviously holds special meaning for me.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I should probably get back to work, completing the outline for what will be my 25th novel.

It’s been a long, strange, and yet amazing little journey, but I’m enjoying the hell out of it. Thanks for riding along with me.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, ramblings, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey, wait. I’ve got my own “writer-versary,” this month!

  1. Daryl Bush says:

    I loved this book when it came out (back then I was reading them as they came out). I miss those days when I could keep up with the publications ;(

    Like

Lay it on me.

