“Ten for Ward” #17 at StarTrek.com: The Secret Stories Behind 10 Star Trek Puzzles

It’s been more than a year since my last contribution to StarTrek.com, and I’m absolutely certain this latest piece will explain why that’s the case.

stpuzzle-dustyabel50thThe family and I have recently been flirting with jigsaw puzzles. Our coffee table currently is covered with the 1,000 scattered pieces of just such a puzzle, which depicts the theater poster for the classic science fiction film, Forbidden Planet. Once that’s done, we’ll be turning our attention to the 3,000-piece monstrosity that is artist Dusty Abell‘s glorious celebration of Star Trek‘s 50th anniversary.

Buying this thing started me thinking about other Star Trek puzzles, particularly those from when I was a kid. Now with children of my own, I’ve occasionally re-acquired a certain book, toy, or other doo-dad from my youth to share with them, and among the earlier purchases were old Trek jigsaw puzzles. Most of them were fairly simple – 150 to 300 pieces – that we could assemble together, especially when they were younger and just starting to figure out those kinds of things. A few of those old puzzles still make me smile with their goofy charm.

And then, as can happen when I sleep too little and drink perhaps a bit too much, my imagination starts to wander and I begin to conjure stories to go with the wacky scenes being depicted in some of these things. For example, what the hell is going on here?

stpuzzle-planetklingon

Little too much “Animated” or “Gold Key Comic” Star Trekkyness for you? Okay, what about this one?

stpuzzle-hgtoys-forcefieldcapture

I know, right?

Find out the “secret,” insomnia fueled back story behind these puzzles and eight others, with my latest Ten for Ward installment:

StarTrek.com: Dayton Ward’s Secret Stories for 10 Star Trek Jigsaw Puzzles

And if this ends up being my final column for the site, now you know why.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in blog, guest blogging, nerdity, startrek.com, ten for ward, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Ten for Ward” #17 at StarTrek.com: The Secret Stories Behind 10 Star Trek Puzzles

  1. Forrice says:

    Radical

    Like

Lay it on me.

