Cover for Star Trek: Waypoint #2!

:: reviews Bucket List ::

:: notes entry, “Write Comic Book; See Name on Cover” ::

:: checks off Bucket List Item ::

:: dances around home office ::

achievement-unlocked

Thanks to editor Sarah Gaydos and the good folks at IDW Publishing, my bro Kevin and I are getting to do something we’ve always wanted to do. For me, it’s a dream that goes back to when I was…what? Eight years old? Whenever I started reading comics with any regularity and occasionally took pencil or Crayon to paper in order to create my own horribly rendered comic adventures.

(No, none of those early efforts survived. All evidence has been purged. All witnesses have been silenced.)

“The Menace of the Mechanitrons!” is our contribution to Star Trek: Waypoint, a six-issue mini-series in which IDW is showcasing all-new stories penned and drawn by various folks with some sort of Star Trek connection past or present, as part of celebrating Star Trek‘s 50th anniversary. Sarah invited us to participate several months ago, and immediately took a liking to our pitch to write an all-new story that pays homage to those gloriously off-beat Gold Key Star Trek comics of the late 1960s and 1970s. Such tales were my first exposure to comics featuring Captain Kirk and the gang, and for all the many, many ways they are so totally inconsistent with the show from which they take their cue, they possess a charm that is all but impossible to deny.

Making things even better was Sarah’s enlisting of artist and Star Trek comics veteran Gordon Purcell, who as I write this is studiously working to complete his work drawing the pretty pictures which will breathe life into our pithy words. If the cover he came up with is any indication, this whole thing is going to be epic. Check it out:

ST-Waypoint2-SubscriptionCover.jpg 
(Click to Biggie Size)

Look! It’s our names! On the cover! I need a cigarette! I don’t even smoke!

:: ahem ::

The art provided by Gordon is for the issue’s “subscription variant” cover. The “regular” version for stores will feature art by David Malan.

Our story is one of two which will fill out Star Trek: Waypoint #2’s thirty-two pages. The other story featured in this special issue is being written by Sam Maggs, author of (among other things), The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy. Handling art duties for Sam’s story is one of my favorite comic artists currently toiling in the trenches, Rachael Stott. The issue will be out in November.

Check out more info on this issue and other Star Trek comics goodness coming later this year from IDW by reading this new article over at StarTrek.com:

StarTrek.com: IDW Preps Four Trek Adventures for November

Many thanks to Sarah Gaydos and IDW for inviting us into their sandbox to play for a short while!

Now, if you’ll excuse me……………..I need another cigarette.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in comics, idw, nerdity, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cover for Star Trek: Waypoint #2!

  1. Pingback: New interview with Trek.fm’s Literary Treks! | The Fog of Ward

  2. PAVLOS KALTSAS says:

    I am 65 years old. A retired Navy Commander, having served in Kuwait (surprisingly, in general sailors do most of their time ashore) and a dozen other places during my 34+ years of service. Not much scares me. (I’m not being arrogant; there’s a purpose I say this, as you will soon find out.)

    Since a teenager watching the Original Series, I have been a die-hard Trekkie. Still am; maybe even more so.

    In my time, I have read hundreds and hundreds of books, many of them Star Trek hardbacks and paperbacks, several of them yours.

    With a BA and MA in English Literature combined with my Star Trek fascination, reading your novels have been a distinct pleasure. The writing style and plots have been quite imaginative and interesting.

    As I said above, not much scares me.

    Until now.

    Reading S.T. Seekers #4, “All That’s Left”, scares the bejeesus out of me.

    I use present tense because I have not been able to finish it. I have been too damn scared.

    I know every single Star Trek episode, every single movie, every single book, every single comic, the crew more or less survives intact and they live happily ever after, ready for their next adventure.

    And I know that’s the attitude I should be taking with your aforementioned novel.

    But I am too scared.

    Really.

    I am not joking.

    I am too scared to read the conclusion. Part way thru the climax, I have put the book down because I can no longer handle the stress, the fear that the enemy is so well entrenched, and the situation for the good guys so bleak, that this time will be the first time when the ending turns out to be reversed – the bad guys win and the good guys all die in the end; characters with whom I have personally identified with, just as if they had served with me in the Middle East against terrozombies. If I don’t read that they died, then in the fantasy of the literature world, they still live.

    Don’t bother writing back to comfort me, to say that the protagonists actually lived. I won’t believe you. You’d say anything to get me to finish reading your story.

    After reading so many books in my lifetime, yours has been the only one I can not, and never will, finish.

    I hope your newest novel, coming out apparently in January is not as good as this one. I don’t want to make it a habit of not getting thru the climactic scenes of your works.

    Thank you for MANY hours of profound pleasure.

    Semper Fi to your dad !

    Pavlos Kaltsas
    Commander
    U.S. Navy (ret.)

    Like

Lay it on me.

