Is this thing on?

Previously, on The Fog of Ward:

test-pattern

Yes, I’ve been rather neglectful of this space the past couple of weeks. In my defense, I’ve had two conventions in as many weekends, one of which was the ginormous Star Trek 50th Anniversary convention in Las Vegas. Holy crap, was that fun. Five full days of hanging out with friends old and new, participating in great panel discussions, and just soaking in the notion that this crazy little 1960s TV show has not simply lingered at the fringes of our awareness for fifty years, but that it continues to inspire so many people in so many ways.

One of the true highlights of the show was finally getting to meet the legendary Bjo Trimble, aka “The Lady Who Saved Star Trek.” As a kid, years and years before the internet and sites like Memory Alpha, I devoured her original Star Trek Concordance. I still have my copy of the original edition, as well as her loving tribute to Star Trek and fandom, On the Good Ship Enterprise, both of which I completely forgot to pack with me in the event I was able to meet her and ask for autographs.

STLV2016-BjoTrimble

At 83, she and her husband, John, are still as feisty and passionate as ever. I don’t normally request photos with anybody I consider a celebrity, but I asked for this one.

STLV2016-MinionsAnother highlight was being able to get a picture with just some of the people for whom we’ve named characters in our various Star Trek stories. They affectionately call themselves our “minions,” but each of them is a wonderful person who’s touched us in some way over the years, either by being a friend or someone on whom we called for research or other assistance, or for the efforts they devote to furthering the positive aspects and family that is Star Trek fandom.

The entire con was like that – a series of small but special moments as we all came together to celebrate this wonky little TV show that’s captured our attention for so many years, with no signs of stopping.


Closer to home this past weekend was Kansas City Comic Con. Three full days of comic and pop culture goodness, during which we enjoyed the company of tremendous neighbors in the vendor’s area. Friends and fellow word pushers Jason ArnettHolly Messinger, Bryan Thomas Schmidt, and Thaddeus Nowak certainly helped the weekend move by faster, as did my getting to meet and hang out with the illustrious (notorious?) Jonathan Maberry, whose table bumped up against mine. Our conversations ran the gamut from the writerly to the geeky, with lots of laughs provided along the way. My daughters also kept me company throughout the weekend, only costing me a small fortune in food and a bout with face painting. It’s all good.

Many thanks to Justin Cline and the rest of the KCCC staff for inviting us to join them for this year’s con. I hope all who attended had a great time, and hopefully we can all do it again in a year or so.

Meanwhile, the work continues apace. I’m trying to wrap up the latest novel in progress, as another novel project waits in the wings, but there also was our Star Trek comic script for IDW and copyedits on a couple of other things. I even managed to cram in writing up a pitch for Predator: The Hunted, the anthology to be edited for Titan Books by the aforementioned Bryan Thomas Schmidt and coming sometime next year. All of that is out of the way, though – for the moment, at least – and now it’s all about getting the novel done as we scream toward the finish line.

Now, if you’ll pardon me, I need to get back to that. Feel free to talk amongst yourselves.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in cons, fandom, nerdity, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Is this thing on?

  1. Scott says:

    Your girls are too cute for words.

    Like

  2. Daryl says:

    Loved the pics! Thanks for sharing

    Like

  3. Paul Nied says:

    How good is the KC con? I’ve been hesitant to go, I worry about parking and long lines.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      Compared to Planet Comicon, neither of those appeared to be an issue. However, this is only the second year for the show. If it grows over time the way PCC has, then yeah…I could see that being a problem in a few years.

      For the days we didn’t have to load in or out, we parked a bit farther away and rode the streetcar up to 14th and Main before walking to Bartle. On Sunday morning, I found a parking space on 14th street directly south of Bartle. BAM. 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Looking back at my 2016. | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

