May writing wrap-up.

all-the-wordsWait……it’s June?

Already?

How the HELL did that happen?

Ugh.

May, like April and indeed the rest of 2016 to this point, rush past at breakneck speed. In addition to various writing This and That, Kevin and I also had two appearances, each different from the other and each fun in their own way. June will also go by far too fast, as I plunge head-first into another novel with a tight turnaround time. As for what happens after that, the picture is actually rather blurry at the moment, even as I try to maneuver  around the game board and perhaps even had a few new pieces. We shall see.

But, here’s what went down in May:

Headlong Flight – A Star Trek: The Next Generation novel set after the events of Armageddon’s Arrow as well as a new trilogy coming at the end of 2016 from fellow scribe John Jackson Miller. This new tale will be another largely “standalone” story with an emphasis on exploring. I delivered the manuscript back on May 9th, and I don’t mind saying I was happy to have that bastard off my screen and out of my life, even for just a little while. Though I haven’t talked about this much, it was this project I was just getting going on when my wife had surgery, and then my mother died. To be brutally honest, all of that derailed me for longer than I wanted to admit. I was finally able to get my head and ass wired right and get back to work, but…well, you know how it goes. Anyway, I’ve since received and responded to my editor’s comments, so now I await copyedits and manuscript approval from CBS. The book is currently scheduled for publication some time in 2017, though I don’t yet have its exact slot, I think Pocket’s angling for spring.

New Tie-in project: Earlier in February, I was approached about this project, and I delivered a manuscript on May 20th. After receiving editor’s notes last week, I sent in a revision last night. It’s the sort of thing that’s trickier than the things I normally write, so I was expecting some back and forth with the editor as we work together to make it right. I can’t really say much about it at this point, except maybe that if you like what I did with __________, then you may like this, too.:)

Star Trek: The Next Generation novel for 2017 – The current Novel In Progress. All I can say for now is that the events of this story will take place at a point after Headlong Flight…but there may be a twist or three. Stay tuned!

Purgatory’s Key – Mine and Kevin’s contribution to Star Trek: Legacies, 2016’s novel trilogy that will help to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the original Star Trek series. We returned the last set of responses to “proofreader queries” on May 19th, so the next time we see this one should be in late August when it starts hitting stores! The trilogy is slated to publish in July, August, and September of 2016, and but you can pass the time by reading the cover copy for all three books!

Star Trek articles for Famous Monsters of Filmland Magazine: We got invited to write for this renowned genre publication back in March. Our pieces are part of the magazine’s celebration of Star Trek‘s 50th anniversary, which will be in issue #286 slated for publication on June 7th, but hey! I already have copies!

Hey! I’ve Got Favorite Writing Books, Too!“– My monthly contribution to the Novel Spaces blog, which was posted on May 17th. This time around, we all contributed to the month’s theme, which was favorite books about writing, be it memoir or How-To, etc.

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Hidden Universe: Star Trek – A Travel Guide to Vulcan – An “inside the box” Star Trek book that mimics–more or less–something like the Lonely Planet series of travel guides. This will be published by Insight Editions, and contains what I think is some pretty fantastic illustrations by artists Peter Markowski and Livon Ramondelli. Everything’s still on track for a July 19th publication date.

24: Trial by Fire – I returned my updated version of the copyedited manuscript to my editor on March 2nd. The next time I see it, we may well be talking typeset/galley pages. You’ve seen the cover, right? Publication is set for August 23rd, though it’s possible I may have a few advance reader copies with me at this summer’s Shore Leave convention. W00t!

Planet of the Apes essay for Sequart – Those Sequart guys just never learn their lesson. This time, I wrote about the live-action Apes television series for a new collection of essays which will bear the rather snappy title Bright Eyes, Ape City: Examining the Planet of the Apes Mythos. I returned my copyedited essay to my editors on April 16th, so I think now we’re waiting on galley pages.

Planet of the Apes short story – Yep, this one. I delivered my manuscript, which I’m currently calling, “Message In A Bottle,” to my editors on March 7th. They were able to get their notes and comments back to me later that same week, which I quickly addressed so that they could get on with putting together the entire anthology for delivery to the good folks at Titan Books. As it uses the characters from the 1974 live-action TV series (for which I confess to having a soft spot), I think it does a good job reintroducing that aspect of the Apes mythos and providing something you might well have seen on the show had it not been cancelled. At last report, Fox had approved the book’s contents, and the book itself is now available for pre-order, with a scheduled publication date of January 24, 2017.

Texas Pride” – During last year’s Kickstarter for friend Mike Friedman’s Pangaea anthology, there were a handful of stretch goals built into the funding campaign. One was a story bundle giveaway, and I offered to Mike this short story of mine that’s set in the “universe” of my novels The Last World War and Counterstrike: The Last World War – Book II. I wrote the story in 2007 for Amazon’s now-defunct “Amazon Shorts” program, and if you didn’t get it back then, or caught me at a convention where I had one of a very limited number of “chapbook” editions of the story, it’s been unavailable. The story has since been formatted as an e-Book, complete with a snazzy new cover by friend Aaron Rosenberg. It’s going to be given to the Pangaea backers first, but I plan to offer it for general sale in the spring. Stay tuned!

“The Enterprise Job” – As 2014 marked the 50th anniversary of the building of the original Enterprise model, and with recent news that it will soon be moved to a more prominent location within the Air & Space Museum as well as possibly receiving a new restoration effort, I told myself that I have to get off my ass and get this finished, formatted, and made available for public consumption and ridicule. Of course, all of that news about the actual model made me rethink significant portions of my story. Once I address all of that, I still have to figure out how best to get it set up for one of the e-Book venues like Smashwords or whatever, as well as making it available for print-on-demand. I know, I know…”it’s coming.”

Possible future projects:

Another tie-in project – Back around the middle of February, I was contacted by an editor with whom I’ve not previously worked, and asked about my interest in a special project they were putting together for later this year. Since working with this person was on my Bucket List, I immediately said yes right before roping in Kevin. One of the pitches we sent was accepted back in late March, and now we’re trying to hash out delivery dates and other logistical items. Stay tuned as things develop!

Original SF novel – Another idea that’s been picking up steam in recent months. I’ve revisited a file I had started a while back, refreshed some older notes and added some new ones. I think I’m on to something, and I plan to approach at least one editor with it later this summer, once I get a synopsis/proposal where I want it to be.

Original e-Book concept – I’ve been pondering an idea for a new series – something akin to the “men’s adventure” style books I loved back in the 80s and 90s. It would be a setting for which I could write shorter tales – novellas, likely – for e-Book distribution. It would be something of an SF-ish/action bent, with (I hope) lots of humor. Not quite campy, but definitely lighter in tone. This is still very rough at the moment, but it’s something I’d really like to get into later this year.

So, aloha, June. How YOU doin’?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

