2016 Scribe Awards nominees announced, and…HEY!

iamtwIt’s that time of year, again!

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers (IAMTW) has announced their nominees for this year’s Scribe Awards. I’m very happy to see listed among the nominees several people I’m proud to call friends and colleagues, but I’m equally excited for…well…you’ll just have to read the list, I guess!

The IAMTW has formatted a proper press release and everything, so I’m just going to post that here:


The Tenth Annual Scribe Awards

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is pleased to announce the Scribe Award Nominees for 2016.

Acknowledging excellence in this very competitive field, IAMTW’s Scribe Awards honor licensed works that tie in with other media such as television, movies, gaming, or comic books. They include original works set in established universes, and adaptations of stories that have appeared in other formats and cross all genres. Tie-in works run the gamut from westerns to mysteries to procedurals, from science fiction to fantasy to horror, from action and adventure to superheroes. HALO, Elementary24, Star Trek, Mike Hammer,  Star Wars, ShadowrunDoctor Who…these represent just a few.

The Scribe Award winners will be announced at ComicCon San Diego in July. The exact day, time and location of the Scribes Panel including the award ceremony will be announced shortly.

IAMTW thanks everyone who sent all the wonderful entries for consideration. Congratulations to the following nominees:

Elementary: The Ghost Line by Adam Christopher
Kill Me, Darling by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
Don Pendleton’s Mack Bolan: Desert Falcons by Michael A. Black
24: Rogue by David Mack

armageddons-arrow-coverBEST ORIGINAL NOVEL – SPECULATIVE
Deadlands: Ghostwalkers by Jonathan Maberry
HALO: Last Light by Troy Denning
HALO: New Blood by Matt Forbeck
Pathfinder: Forge of Ashes by Josh Vogt
Shadowrun: Borrowed Time by R.L. King
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Armageddon’s Arrow by Dayton Ward
Star Trek: Seekers #3: Long Shot by David Mack


Backcountry by D.E. McDonald
Batman: Arkham Knight by Marv Wolfman
Crimson Peak by Nancy Holder
MANOS – The Hands of Fate by Stephen D. Sullivan
Star Wars: Dark Disciple by Christie Golden

Mike Hammer: “Fallout” by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
Shadowrun: “Swamp of Spirits” by Jason Hardy
The X-Files: “Back in El Paso My Life Will Be Worthless” by Keith R.A. DeCandido
The X-Files: “Dusk” by Paul Crilley
The X-Files: “Non Gratum Anus Rodentum” by Brian Keene
The X-Files: “Statues” by Kevin J. Anderson

  • “Fallout” first appeared in The Strand Magazine
  • “Swamp of Spirits” first appeared in Shadowrun: World of Shadows
  • All four X-Files stories first appeared in The X-Files: Trust No One

Dark Shadows: Bloodlust by Alan Flanagan, Will Howells and Joseph Lidste
Dark Shadows: In the Twinkling of An Eye by Penelope Faith
Doctor Who: The Red Lady by John Dorney
Doctor Who: Damaged Goods by Jonathan Morris, adapted from a novel by Russell T. Davies
Pathfinder Legends: Mummy’s Mask: “Empty Gravesby Cavan Scott, adapted from a story Crystal Frasier


Congratulations to all of the nominees, and to the judges for each category who had to read through all the submissions to arrive at a final list and determine winners in each category. Good luck to everyone!


2 thoughts on “2016 Scribe Awards nominees announced, and…HEY!

Lay it on me.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s