New presents from the Book Fairy!

It doesn’t matter how long I’ve been doing this. Getting the author copies for a new book is still one of those things I anticipate, and I grin like a goofy kid whenever I get to open up a box. For example:

ElusiveSalvation-Copies

There it is: Elusive Salvation, minty fresh and all ate up with that new book smell. I think they came out pretty slick, and that “Trek 50” logo on the spine? Not gonna lie: I get a little tingly just looking at it. Yes, it’s very, very fun to be involved with Star Trek during this, its golden anniversary year. See, Mom? Dad? All those afternoons and Saturdays spent watching reruns weren’t entirely wasted.

What’s this one about? Well, I’m glad you asked. As it happens, you can check out the book’s back cover copy just by clicking on this linky type thing right here. Go on, you know you want to. I’ll wait.

Back yet?

All righty, then. Now that I have my copies, this means we’re in the final countdown toward this thing starting to show up on bookstore shelves. The “official” publication date is April 26th, and that’s the date those of the e-Book persuasion can expect to have it available (unless you pre-ordered it in your e-Format of choice, in which case it will automatically download to your device, which means I love you). Luddites like me who still like your books all papery and whatnot can expect to start seeing this guy show up in your local bookstore in about a week or so, depending on when the individual store gets their copies and the beleaguered staff can get it out from the back room and onto their sales floor.

And because I’m sure someone else will do it, here’s a copy of the new book alongside the one that spawned it:

ElusiveSalvation-withShadow

Sweet.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go through the box and pull out the copy in the best condition, so it can go on my brag shelf with the others. Of course I have a brag shelf. Every writer does. Well, some have brag bookcases, and others have brag rooms or wings of museums or whatever, but me? I still have just a couple of shelves.

I’m working on the other stuff. Stay tuned.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, nerdity, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New presents from the Book Fairy!

  1. M.E. says:

    Very cool! Can’t wait to read it. 🙂

    Like

Lay it on me.

