Novel Spaces – “The 7 Phases of Almost Any Writing Project.”

writerWhat? It’s the 17th again? Didn’t we just do one of these, like, a month or so ago?

Of course, being the 17th means it must once again be my turn at bat over at the Novel Spaces blog!

This time around, as I labor to complete a Writing Project That Will Not Die, my thoughts turned to the repetitive nature of the “writer’s life,” and how so much of what a writer encounters during the life cycle of a project is repeatable. Indeed, such things seem unavoidable, no matter how many times we tell ourselves, “Yep! I’ve definitely learned my lesson. I’m going to make some changes and to tackle the next project so much better than this one.”

Yeah. Whatever.

The result of that sleep-deprived bit of rumination is something I’ve decided to call “The 7 Phases of  Almost Any Project.” In short, it goes like this:

  1. Enthusiasm
  2. Procrastination
  3. Disillusionment
  4. Panic
  5. Self-Loathing
  6. Cramming
  7. Coma

For the details on each phase of this “writer’s life cycle,” check out the full article:

Novel Spaces – “The 7 Phases of Almost Any Writing Project”

If you find yourself nodding and pointing at the screen and yelling stuff like, “Hell yeah! That’s what I’m talking about! See, honey! Not just me!” then post your anecdotes to the comments.

My Novel Spaces archive.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in guest blogging, lists, novel spaces, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

