NaNoWriMo 2015: Week 1 check-in.

NaNoWriMo-logo

All right, folks! We’re officially one week into the insanity that is National Novel Writing Month, the 30-day writing marathon designed, so far as I can tell, to induce you to crying into your pillow or the alcoholic beverage of your choice.

Nah, it’s not really that bad. Kinda.

On our way to the 50,000-word goal, I can report that as of this morning, I sit at 11,520 words toward the work in-progress. I might put a bit more toward it today, but the primary item on my writing agenda is addressing editor’s notes for another manuscript that I already let sit a week or so while I was finishing the Mars Attacks novella. I’d like to wrap that up this weekend so that I can get back to work on the new novel starting Monday morning. I’m really not worried about hitting or missing the NaNoWriMo target count, but it does add a bit of extra kick to the proceedings.

So, for those of you who’ve opted to partake of this year’s NaNoWriMo shenanigans, how’s it going? Find your zone yet? Having fun? Tell us what’s going on in your writer’s corner. No judging; we’re all friends here.

Then, once you’ve done that…get your ass back to work. 😀

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in friends, nanowrimo, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2015: Week 1 check-in.

  1. jrfrontera says:

    I am now behind. 😛
    I’m not TOO concerned about it, because this year I’m being a bit of a rebel and mostly editing for NaNo (I HAVE to finish these edits!!) at the standard editing to word count conversion rate used for the NaNo Camps of 1 hour of focused editing = 1000 words. I’ll manage about an hour today, meaning I’ll need to cram in 3.5 hours tomorrow to catch up. Tricky, considering full time job and child … but our group write-in is tomorrow night so I’ll be hitting it hard then!

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I specifically plotted my per-day word count to not include weekends, so that I could use that time to do other things or even just chill, so according to the word-o-meter I’m currently behind, but I’ll be ahead after tomorrow…or something.

      Liked by 1 person

Lay it on me.

