I’m gonna write a Planet of the Apes story, y’all!

Well, several people are, to be accurate. Still, I’m gonna be one of ’em!

The contract is signed and on its way to its editors, so I’m now officially cleared to announce that one of my near-future projects will be a short story for a prose anthology in which all of the tales will be set in the “classic” Planet of the Apes continuity. I will be joining a stellar lineup of writers to present a collection of all-new stories set on that world were man once stood supreme, yet is now ruled by the beasts.

planet-of-apes

PLANET OF THE APES.

PLANET. OF. THE. HOLY ARE YOU SHITTING ME. APES.

Anybody who knows me knows I’m an unabashed fan of that crazy planet and its pesky apes. Love, love, love them I do, for as long as I can remember. I have vivid memories of watching the original film when it was first broadcast on CBS back in 1973, which along with airings of the second and third movies set up the short-lived television series the following year. I was seven years old back then, and I had Planet of the Apes action figures, playsets, trading cards, coloring books, models, Halloween costumes, and all that stuff. Unlike so many of the films and television series I grew up with which don’t hold up to the passage of time, Apes along with the original Star Trek and The Six Million Dollar Man have never lost their luster, at least for me.

(Aside: Still looking for that SixMil novel license, if anybody’s listening.)

The as-yet unnamed anthology will be edited by fellow word pushers Jim Beard and Rich Handley for Titan Books, which currently holds a license to publish novels tying into the recent Apes reboot films. This will be Titan’s first foray into the classic era, and that Jim and Rich saw fit to include me in the author line-up they’ve assembled is awesome for at least a couple of reasons. First and foremost, this is a “Bucket List” kind of writing gig for me. It’s not a full-blown novel, but hey…we have to start somewhere, amirite? Second–and this is important–if this project had gone forward without me getting to play, you can be sure I’d have taken it a bit personally. I’m talking “Me=Terminator, Everyone Involved=Sarah Connor,” know what I’m sayin’? That’s right, people; I’d would have gleefully invoked a crossover event to exact the proper level of retribution for my satisfaction.

Thankfully, we’re going to be avoiding mass carnage, at least for the moment.

Anyway, there’s not much to tell yet so far as the anthology’s contents, who’s doing what and so on. In fact, I’m even going to play it safe and not yell out who I think are the people in the line-up, just in case there’s been a change that hasn’t yet been communicated. There’s a long way to go before this thing hits shelves, and much work to do between now and then, but it’s going to be fun. Fun, I say.

Planet of the Apes, y’all. Holy crap, am I stoked.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in apes, friends, nerdity, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I’m gonna write a Planet of the Apes story, y’all!

  1. liquidcross says:

    Please tell me yours will be the Mark Wahlberg story.

    Seriously, though, congratulations!

    Like

  2. Pingback: September writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  3. Pingback: Announcing Titan Books’ Planet of the Apes anthology lineup! Look! I’m in there! | The Fog of Ward

  4. Pingback: October writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  5. Russell Hossain says:

    I cannot wait. I LOVE everything Apes and actually hope/wish/envision a way to tie in the new mvies’ continutiy with the original Apes movie universe. Cannot wait to see what you come up with!

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I’m happy with the newest movies being their own thing. Part of me hopes they’ll leave a bit of mystery after the third film comes out in 2017, and not try to remake the original, somehow. We know how the story ends, after all.

      Like

  6. Pingback: November writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  7. Pingback: The way-late December writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  8. Pingback: The sorta late January writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  9. Pingback: February writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  10. Pingback: The sorta late March writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  11. Pingback: The way, way late April writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  12. Pingback: May writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  13. Pingback: The kinda late June writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  14. Pingback: July writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  15. Pingback: August writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  16. Pingback: September writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  17. Pingback: October writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  18. Pingback: November writing wrap-up! | The Fog of Ward

  19. Pingback: December writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

