A proposed modification to office meeting policies.

So, this morning, I’m having a conversation on Facebook with a friend, who drops this bit of “Monday” on me: Apparently, someone in charge at his office called a meeting, and once everyone was present, confessed that he had real idea why the meeting was being held. The “in charge” person basically said, “I have no idea what I’m supposed to be asking here.”

This, of course, prompted reactions from the group that likely were variations of this:

AngryApe

I’ve been in my share of meetings where there seemed to be no defined purpose for the gathering, other than interrupting whatever work we were supposed to be doing. It’s one thing for the rank and file to be clueless when they’re called into a room (keeping your people uninformed being a pillar of modern management, and all), but if you’re the one who’s supposedly got the plan hiding among those flash cards you’re holding close to your vest, you’re expected to drop knowledge on your subordinates every so often.

People who failed at this usually irritated the shit out of me.

Therefore, I propose this modification to office meeting policy:

If you call a meeting, and once everyone is assembled you announce that you don’t see the point of the meeting or – worse – have no idea why the meeting is being called in the first place, you are then required to perform a lip synch rendition of a song from a pre-approved list. Said list is to be compiled and approved by all members of a team or group that participates in the affected meetings.

Barring the existence of such a list, or if an agreement cannot be reached so far as any options from said list, the default selection will be “The Jackal.”

Discuss.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in jokes, ramblings, weird shit, work, youtube. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A proposed modification to office meeting policies.

  1. BrainRants says:

    I approve this message. I’ve sat in my share of pointless-ass meetings, Army style.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. G.B. Miller says:

    Mr. Ward, being a guv’ment employee for 20+ years, I’ve sat in more than my fair share of meetings. Only the ones that my current unit had called (about 100 in 10 years) counted for something, since they all had to do with my job. All the others had absolutely nothing to do with my job and the people who scheduled them considered us as an afterthought in that they scheduled them while we were trying to get their precious paychecks created.

    Like

Lay it on me.

