My 2016 convention schedule is already building out. Yikes.

Why, why, why I’m I thinking about 2016? We’ve still got some 2015 left to get through, right?

Nevertheless, I’m already starting to look at next year through a couple of different prisms. There’s what I might be writing, of course, but also where I might be traveling. 2016 is a big year for Star Trek, as you may have guessed what with the big 50th anniversary hoopla and shenanigans and whatnot. With that in mind, we’re already having conversations about convention appearances, and from the looks of things, my con schedule will be experiencing a definite uptick next year.

booksaleStarting out right here in KC, Kevin and I have already tentatively accepted invitations for appearances at three separate conventions: Planet Comicon in March, the Starfleet Region 12 Summit in April, and the still new-car fresh smelling Kansas City Comic Con next August.

(Note: Each of these is still listed as tentative.)

Then there’s our annual pilgrimage to Denver for Starfest in March, which is pretty much a lock as things currently stand. We’re committed to never missing that particular con so long as they keep letting us in the door. So far, so good. Later in the year, Kevin and I will be heading east to Baltimore and points north for the annual Shore Leave con.

Kevin will almost certainly be heading to San Diego and New York for their respective comic-cons, and it’s looking more and more as though we’ll both be in Vegas for the big 50th Anniversary Trek blowout con. Hell, I’ve already booked a room for that one. It’s also possible that I’ll be at San Diego or New York, as well, though as things stand now that’s extremely tentative.

That’s just what I know about today. Stay tuned for updates. Maybe we’ll see you at one or more of these shin digs?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in cons, fandom, nerdity. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My 2016 convention schedule is already building out. Yikes.

  1. BrainRants says:

    This is what you get for being all famous and shit.

    Like

  2. Terry Erdmann says:

    And somehow, sometime, in the middle of all that, you’ll have to accomplish some writing. Remember writing?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jrfrontera says:

    YAY! I’ll be at Planet Comicon and KCCC … perhaps this time with books of my own! (Wait what?)

    Maybe I can fit in one of your suitcases if you head out to SDCC after all, and I’m considering trying to get to the Vegas Trek con, that sounds AHMAZING.

    I will be sure to stop by and say hi if ever our paths shall cross!

    Like

  4. Jim Gillespie says:

    If you guys will be in NY, I will buy you a drink.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I honestly don’t know if I’ll make it next year. Definitely won’t be there this year, but Kevin will be attending as part of Hallmark’s booth contingent, so stop by and say howdy. 🙂

      Like

Lay it on me.

