An overdue “Where’s My Book 2015” update!

We’re entering the home stretch for summer. Vacations are winding down and kids will be heading back to school in the coming weeks. Soon, life for many parents will return to some semblance of normalcy.

(Yep. Totally typed that last bit with a straight face.)

Some of you will recall that back in June, I issued a good-natured challenge of sorts: “Where’s My Book?” The idea was simple: If you were somewhere unique or interesting and happened to have one of my books with you (either in print or electronic form), I offered up the suggestion that you might snap a pic of that book in that location, or held by some interesting person or character you happened across.

As it turns out, I received some pretty nifty pics in response. I’ve been saving them for a bit, and I figured it was time to collect them into a single post to see what we’ve amassed to this point. Wanna see?

There are actually more pics than I’m showing with this first update, but these represent several of my favorites. It’s also possible that I’ve missed a couple, particularly if they were sent or posted early on. If you sent or posted such a pic and don’t see it here, this is your invitation to post it/them in the comments. The more, the merrier!

Meanwhile….

Friend Nick Minecci got things going early on, with a trip to the Gettysburg battlefield and museum:

nick-wheresmybook2015-04

nick-wheresmybook2015-02 nick-wheresmybook2015-03

(NOTE: Click any pic for biggie size.)

Eric Stillwell kicked things up a couple of notches, when he opted to take along one of my books with him on vacation to France:

EricStillwell02 EricStillwell06

Ryon Collins gets special props for going above and beyond the call of duty. He made a trek out from Las Vegas to none other than Area 51 itself! And he took the perfect book to do it!

RyonCollins01 RyonCollins02

Ken Sapp gets in on the action with some cosplayers at a recent convention:

KenSapp01

At another con, Tom Sharp helps us with our long-standing quest to find two rather elusive individuals….

TomSharp01

And as recently as today at the Star Trek convention happening this weekend in Las Vegas, my excellent friend Christine Rideout gives us a hint of that Star Trek/Galaxy Quest crossover we’ve all been secretly hoping for….

ChristineRideout01

But the guy to beat seems to be Chris Rousseau, who carried out some masterful pic grabbing from the sets of the amazing fan production Star Trek: New Voyages. Take a look at these:

ChrisRusseau01 ChrisRusseau02 (ChrisRusseau04 ChrisRusseau05

(Aside: I really have to come up with an excuse to visit one of these studios, some day.)

As I said, these are a few of my favorites. There are others, and if you think I’ve missed some and you’ve got them to share, then post them in the comments!

This weekend marks what likely will be the big summer push for this. We’ve got the Shore Leave convention happening in Maryland, and the giant Creation Star Trek con taking place AS WE SPEAK in Las Vegas. So, if you’re at either of these events and encounter photo ops with celebrities, folks rocking awesome cosplay, or whatever, now’s the time!

I tip my hat to everyone who’s played along so far. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…I’ve got some great friends and fans. 🙂

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, fandom, friends, nerdity, pics, wheres my book. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An overdue “Where’s My Book 2015” update!

  1. Olivia Emily says:

    This is so cool! So many people in so many different places – all with your book! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BrainRants says:

    As a fellow military current/alum, have you been to Gettysburg? It’s pretty awesome. If you’re in the NoVA area again soon, let me know. If you can extend over a weekend, I’d be happy to drive you up, even though I’m pretty sure no Marines were involved in the battle.

    Great idea here, BTW.

    Like

  3. Tom Sharp says:

    I got mentioned! I got mentioned! Gonna have some more pics to contribute when I get out to Florida in a couple of weeks. Hopefully I get at least one ya like more than Carmen Sandiego & Waldo from Geeks, Games & Gadgets in Nacogdoches, Texas.

    Liked by 1 person

Lay it on me.

