Cover copy for Elusive Salvation, my sequel to From History’s Shadow!

Thanks to a heads up from The Trek Collective, I’m now able to share the back cover copy for Elusive Salvation, a Star Trek original series tale that also serves as a sequel to my 2013 novel From History’s Shadow.

Here we go:

The Arctic Circle, 1845: Escaping the tyranny under which their people have lived for generations, aliens from a distant planet crash-land on Earth’s inhospitable frozen wastes. Surviving the harsh conditions will pose a challenge, but over time the aliens will migrate to more populated areas, with decades passing as they work to conceal their presence from their former oppressors, who continue to hunt them at any cost.

San Francisco, 2283: When a mysterious craft is detected entering the solar system, Admiral James Kirk is dispatched by Starfleet to confront the vessel. He meets with an emissary from the Iramahl, a previously unknown alien race who have come in search of their brothers and sisters thought to have gone missing in this area of space centuries earlier. Having recently thrown off the last chains of subjugation by another species, the Ptaen, they now believe their lost people hold the key to saving their entire race from eventual extinction.

New York, 1970: Roberta Lincoln, young protégé of the mysterious agent Gary Seven, is shocked when she receives the oddest request for help—from the future….


I didn’t write From History’s Shadow with the idea of some day developing a sequel, but reader response and sales were strong enough that my editors welcomed the idea. My original intent was to maybe pitch a novella or two that could be published in e-Book format, but then I came up with an idea I thought could sustain a full-length novel. Unlike the first book, I did write this one with the idea that I could follow up on certain plot points if sales and reader reaction warrant it. You’ll have to read it to see what I mean 😀

fhs-covercut
At present, the book’s “official” publication date is set for Tuesday, April 26th, 2016. More info to come as it’s made available, such as a cover and stuff.

Until then? Keep watching the skies!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cover copy for Elusive Salvation, my sequel to From History’s Shadow!

  1. BrainRants says:

    I’ll read that! Hells yeah. I somehow missed your first one, what with a pesky Afghanistan thing and all.

    Like

  2. Pingback: July writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  3. Pingback: August writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  4. Pingback: September writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  5. Pingback: October writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  6. Pingback: New presents from the Book Fairy! | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

