May writing wrap-up.

all-the-words

Dear 2015: Slow the hell down.

May was busy. No, really.

Lots of stuff going on, and June promises to be even crazier, with various deadlines looming on the horizon. I may end up sitting in a corner, munching on Cocoa Puffs and talking to myself, before it’s all over.

So, now that I’ve painted that cheery picture, here’s what went down during May:

Star Trek: Seekers #4All That’s Left – Kevin and I reviewed the copyedited manuscript after receiving it on April 28th, and delivered our changes another fixes back to our editor on May 13th. The next I expect to see this is in a few weeks, when the first typeset/galley pages are delivered for review. Unlike the first two books which launched the series, David Mack’s Book 3, Long Shot, and ours will each be standalone tales “starring,” respectively, the crews of the U.S.S. Sagittarius and Endeavour. Dave’s book is due out at the end of July, with ours following in late October. Did you see the covers?

“Day to Day” – Short Story for 2113: Stories Inspired By the Music of Rush, edited by John McFetridge and Kevin J. Anderson and publisher ECW. As the anthology title implies, each of the stories it contains will be inspired in some way by one of the songs in Rush’s extensive catalog. My story draws inspiration from the song “Red Sector A” from the band’s Grace Under Pressure album. After receiving some notes on my manuscript back in late April, I returned a revised draft on May 11th, for which I was given his official thumbs up. I’ve even been paid, so it’s all legit, now! At last report, the publisher was eyeing a September publication date, hopefully in time for the annual Rushcon in Toronto.

From History’s Shadow II: Temporal Boogaloo – More UFOs! More aliens! More time travel shenanigans! I’m cranking away on this as fast as my fingers will fly, with my manuscript due for delivery toward the end of June. As things stand now, I suspect this will be slated for publication in mid-late 2016, though that’s certainly subject to change. It’s too early to be offering much in the way of details, but I’ll hint now that this won’t be a direct sequel to the first book, either for Kirk and the gang or anybody in the 20th century….sorta. 😀

24 novel – Wow, just talking about this book’s development is going to end up being a fun discussion, one of these days. I’m not at liberty to discuss details at this point, but the short, spoiler-free version is that I’ve been asked to change direction with my book in response to a request from Fox. I’m actually very jazzed by this, and I’ve had some great e-Mail and phone conversations with my editor at about it. I hope I can get some clearance to talk about it soon, because…well, dammit, Chloe! My outline for the book was officially approved by Fox a couple of weeks ago, which is great, since I’m supposed to deliver my manuscript in July. I suspect publication is being eyed for spring/summer of next year.

Tie-in project – For a new editor and publisher. I delivered my manuscript to my editor for this still sooper sekrit project on May 1st, and I’m currently awaiting feedback from my editor. Hopefully I’ll be able to talk a bit about this one soon. More info later as things start to dial in.

When Lightning Strikes…You Bottle that Stuff” – My monthly contribution to the Novel Spaces blog, which was posted on May 16th. For this latest go-round, I take a few hundred words to describe the soup sandwich that is the way my creative brain works, and what happens when it finally spits up something I can use to get on with my writing.

Ten Favorite Star Trek Musical Pieces” – Another entry in my irregularly recurring guest blog series for StarTrek.com. As the title suggests, this entry offers up a list of favorite musical cues or themes from across the various films and TV episodes.

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Armageddon’s Arrow – A Star Trek: The Next Generation novel set after the events of The Fall. The book’s in the wild now, you know.

Short story for Pangaea – You may have seen me babbling about this here and there during February and March. Friend Michael Jan Friedman’s “shared world” concept was successful in reaching its crowdfunding goal, so Kevin and I will soon be writing a story. We’ve received some direction from editor Mike, so it looks like we’re off and running!

Short Story – For a tie-in anthology that I’m not yet allowed to name, published by a publisher I’m not yet allowed to name, and edited by an editor I’m not yet allowed to name. What I can say is that it’s for a property for which I’ve not previously written, working for a publisher and editor with whom I have no prior experience, and it was a total blast. I also can tell you that I delivered a completed story on December 15th, and at present I’m just waiting for said unnamed editor to get back to me with his notes, feedback, requests, and so on and so forth.

“Let’s Do the Time Warp Again, and Again, and Again, and….” – My essay for The Sacred Scrolls: Comics on the Planet of the Apes, to be published by Sequart.org. As the title implies, I focused on the use of time travel across the different Apes comics over the decades. My work for this essay is done, and the book is currently slated for publication in late spring or early summer.

Unnamed Star Trek novel – Along with From History’s Shadow II, I also was asked about writing something after that. At this point, I don’t even know what it will be…that’s how nebulous things are this far out (we’re likely talking publication at some point in 2017). But, contracts have been signed, with an outline due some time in the early summer.

Tie-in novel – We’ve gotten a tentative green light on this project, and Kevin and I delivered our outline on April 6th. Can’t really say much at all about this one just yet, other than there’s a pretty good chance it’ll be published in 2016….

Two more essays for Sequart – That’s right, they didn’t learn their lessons after the Trek and Apes essays, and they invited me back to cause more damage. At this point, neither project has been formally announced, but I’ve already had to figure out when I’ll write the first one, and I suspect the other one will be due a few months after that. More info on these as details firm up.

“The Enterprise Job” – As 2014 marked the 50th anniversary of the building of the original Enterprise model, and with recent news that it will soon be moved to a more prominent location within the Air & Space Museum as well as possibly receiving a new restoration effort, I told myself that I have to get off my ass and get this finished, formatted, and made available for public consumption and ridicule. This means figuring out how best to get it set up for one of the e-Book venues like Smashwords or whatever, as well as making it available for print-on-demand. I know, I know…”it’s coming.”

Possible future projects:

Original SF novel – Another idea that’s been picking up steam in recent weeks. I’ve revisited a file I had started a while back, refreshed some older notes and added some new ones. I think I may be onto something, and I plan to approach at least one editor with it later this summer, once I get a synopsis/proposal roughed out.

Tie-in project – For who knows? Believe it or not, I actually got this thing to a point where I was comfortable handing it off to another party for review. Why? Because this project, assuming it goes forward, will entail collaborating with an artist. The person I hope will be that artist is currently looking over the material, and if he decides he wants to play, then we’ll get going on finalizing the pitch and putting it in front of the “right people.” This would be for someone with whom I’ve not worked before, so I’m not sure at this point what to expect, but, I’m definitely jazzed to get this in front of someone, because FUN.

The Adventures of Space Marshal Dylan McCade: There has been some preliminary talk about a follow-up to “The Terror of Entropia’s Ice Cannon!” That first story ended on something of a cliffhanger, setting up something I was calling “The Rampage of the Runaway Moon!” and even though that originally was meant as a tongue-in-cheek salute to Space: 1999, it’s looking like we may well go for developing this notion. The current plan is to collaborate on a story outline, and from there decide how best to proceed. In the meantime, the first adventure is still available for listening and reading at the Dylan McCade’s page on the SciFi Commons website, and it’s all free for your ears and eyes alike. So, if you haven’t yet sampled it, you need to be setting course thataway. I’ll wait.

Short film script: Kevin and I hatched this notion a while were talking about some other things. Now that Kevin has experience writing scripts and access to people and resources looking and willing to film such things, we decided we may have the makings of a fun little project. I also have the idea pretty much written out, already, so it’ll largely be a matter of going in and rewriting/freshening up some bits, formatting a 10-15 minute screenplay from that, and then seeing what the next steps are. Mwuah-ah-hah.

And yet another tie-in project – For who knows? Kevin and I originally cooked up this notion while we were in Vegas last year. After some himming and hawing, we finally put together a pitch/outline and delivered it for review back in December. I thought the thing had gone dormant or died on the vine, but I was informed back in early summer that it has been passed up the ladder to the next party who needs to weigh in and either approve or reject it. So, who knows? We might have ourselves a ballgame, here.

Military SF story – A while back, I received a copy of a military SF short fiction anthology – the first in what is to be a recurring series of such books – along with a  handwritten note from its editor that read, “Volume 2 is done. Now send me something for Volume 3!” Well, Volume 3 has come and gone, but I still really want to write something for this series. Maybe once I get past some of this other stuff….

Kid’s story book – Though my original idea (an illustrated story book for younger kids…5-8 range, etc.) might not end up going anywhere, a recent discussion has opened a door to possibly getting this going as part of another, larger project. This would be a licensed product, and things are still very nebulous at the moment as different parties weigh in on this or that, but you can be sure that if anything breaks, I’ll be one jazzed geek.

Aloha, June.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May writing wrap-up.

  1. bryndonovan says:

    DAmmmmn. So many projects! It’s impressive!

    Like

Lay it on me.

