“Ten for Ward” #15 at StarTrek.com: 10 Favorite Trek Musical Pieces

Hey, we haven’t done this in a while.

The good folk over at StarTrek.com have once again taken leave of their senses and invited me into their realm to scribble all over their virtual walls with my particular flavor of digital babblings. What happens when they let me do that? A little something I like to call “Ten for Ward.”

For those of you who are new to the Fog and need an explanation, here’s the deal: Every so often, I’m invited to provide a list of ten favorite (and hopefully interesting) Trek-related whatevers based on…well…whatever I can come up with whenever my editor pulls my chain and asks for a new column.

For this latest episode, I pondered the music of Star Trek, its impact on the franchise as well as my personal enthusiasm for it and how it is a major aid to my own writing. As I said over there, I could spend days talking on this particular topic, so it was a major challenge to limit myself to a list of ten favorite pieces.

What did I end up with?

Ten for Ward #15 – 10 Favorite Trek Musical Pieces

doomsdayAs is always the case with these columns, mine is not intended to be a “definitive” list or a rundown of “the best,” and I invite you to offer up your own favorites in the comments section, either here or over at StarTrek.com.

You can also check out all of my “Ten for Ward” columns just by clicking on this logo-ish looking thing right here:

Okay, now it’s your turn to hit me with your favorite pieces of Star Trek music?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in guest blogging, nerdity, startrek.com, ten for ward, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Ten for Ward” #15 at StarTrek.com: 10 Favorite Trek Musical Pieces

  1. BrandonH says:

    I really love the main titles for First Contact.

    Like

  2. sjl1701 says:

    How could you possibly miss “The Enterprise” from TMP!?!!? I’ve not checked my iTunes number on how times I’ve listened to it, but it’s probably into 4 figures. Still a shame that Goldsmith did not the Oscar for it.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I didn’t “miss” anything.

      It’s called “Favorites,” not “Best of” or “Top 10.” There’s no way to list everything, so I set up a list to start a discussion, and invite readers to offer up their own personal favorites.

      Like

      • sjl1701 says:

        Understood. It’s darn tough to get it to 10. I knew you loved the TMP soundtrack from a number of comments in the piece.

        Like

        • sjl1701 says:

          And thanks for doing the list. It has a number of my favorites. Trek has a long history of wonderful music. I’ve been lucky to hear some live. My local orchestra has played a few pieces. Hearing the TOS theme played live is amazing.

          Like

        • Dayton Ward says:

          We could (and I happily would) talk all day about Star Trek music. I am an unabashed nerd when it comes to film and TV scores in general and Trek in particular. I still own the TMP score on vinyl, for crying out loud 😀

          Speaking of live Trek music, I don’t know if you’ve seen or heard about this, but I’m definitely planning to catch one of these shows: Star Trek: The Ultimate Voyage

          (Note: The complete list of tour dates hasn’t yet been released. There’s supposed to be at least 100 dates/locations.)

          Like

        • sjl1701 says:

          I still have my vinyl as well.

          I’ve checked the schedule, so far my city is not on the list. I’ll be keeping an eye on the schedule. I have hope as both the Star Wars and Lord of the Rings music tours came through.

          Scott

          Like

  3. David says:

    I submit the recurring musical themes of the animated series. This clip has a few I like, including the stints and horns that were so prevalent in the cartoon.

    For the movies, I like the opening of Wrath of Khan and the amazing overture for First Contact.
    Nice post!

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      All of those are fine choices. As I said up above, I opted not to include the opening themes/credits music for any of the films/series, as for the most part they’re easy picks most of us can agree on. Nice to see all the love for First Contact, a score I don’t think gets enough appreciation.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sjl1701 says:

    The other unappreciated score is for Star Trek 5. I was thrilled when they finally released the complete score a few years ago, it was great to have all of finally.

    Like

Lay it on me.

