Armageddon’s Arrow

armageddons-arrow-coverStar Trek: The Next Generation

It is a new age of exploration, and the U.S.S. Enterprise is dispatched to “the Odyssean Pass,” a region charted only by unmanned probes and believed to contain numerous inhabited worlds. Approaching a star system with two such planets, Captain Jean-Luc Picard and his crew find a massive alien vessel, drifting in interstellar space for decades. Sensors detect life aboard the derelict—aliens held in suspended animation.

Thought to be an immense sleeper ship, the vessel actually is a weapon capable of destroying entire worlds . . . the final gambit in a war that has raged for generations across the nearby system. Now caught in the middle of this conflict, Captain Picard attempts to mediate, as both sides want this doomsday weapon . . . which was sent from the future with the sole purpose of ending the interplanetary war before it even began!


Mass-Market Paperback from Amazon.com
Kindle e-Book from Amazon.com
Mass-Market Paperback or Nook e-Book from Barnes & Noble


After everything that happened over the course of the Typhon Pact books and The Fall miniseries, I had really, really been wanting to get Picard and the gang back to doing some old-fashioned exploring and seeking out and all the Trek-like stuff. I was starting to get burned out on the political storylines, and wanted to “lighten things up” a tad. I also had been wanting to take the Enterprise-E crew and do something with them in the spirit of the original series, with some of that old-school Star Trek flavor to it, where our heroes find something weird and dangerous and have to figure out what to do with it. I hope that much is communicated by the book’s title, which has a very deliberate original series vibe.

In addition to all of that, I started thinking long-term about what to do with the newer characters that had been introduced over the course of the “post-Nemesis” storylines; crew members who’ve moved into positions once occupied by favorite Next Generation characters, and so on. Before this book, I hadn’t really had the luxury of doing that, as my last two turns with Picard and company were in service to larger storylines and working with multiple authors. In truth, I only ended up doing some of that here, due to the way the story unfolded and which characters made the most sense to bring to the forefront. Even as the book hits shelves on its “publication date,” I’ve been having conversations with my editor on what to do next, and which characters we could explore to change things up  bit.

But, that’s for later. Here and now? We’ve got this book.

In addition to providing a “permanent” landing pad for links to find and order the book, this entry also will serve as the book’s “official” Q&A thread. Those of you who want to chat about the book, feel free to post your questions/etc. to the comments section. For those of you who’ve found this page and perhaps not yet read the book, BEWARE THAT SPOILERS ARE POSSIBLE FROM THIS POINT FORWARD.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in my books, q&a, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Armageddon’s Arrow

  1. The Operator says:

    Woot! Can’t wait to partake…been looking forward to new adventures with the E crew.
    I can understand a writer getting “bored” with the status quo and wanting to shake things up. This should be fun.
    Out of curiosity…will other authors be picking up the DS9 and political threads. I enjoyed those as well. Just curious.
    Thanks again for all the hard work! I really enjoy your writing

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Will these stories be more of an episodic (stand alone) nature or will they be more like a series that should be read in order?

    Should we have read the Typhon Pact books or anything else to get set up for these?

    That said (asked?); I’m looking forward to some good old fashioned adventure/exploration stories.

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      This one is more episodic than the previous books, but it still references events from those books, so if you don’t want to be spoiled about events from the Typhon Pact or The Fall, tread carefully. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: May writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  4. Hi Mr. Ward. Big fan of yours. Just finished reading “Armageddon’s Arrow”. Really enjoyed it. I did have a question. In chapter 32, you write “Of course, she supposed there might be temporal ramifications to consider, such as the apparent paradox of using the completed version of the weapon ship to destroy its earlier, burgeoning self. How would the supposed rules of time travel view such a thing? When this is all over, somebody at the Department of Temporal Investigations is going to have an aneurysm.” So, you clearly acknowledge the paradox of the Arrow destroying its past self but then you very cleverly avoid answering it. So, I was wondering, what were your thoughts about how the paradox is resolved? Did the Arrow create a separate timeline when it traveled back? Thanks. Keep writing great Trek Lit!

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I’m thinking someone at DTI is going to have an aneurysm. 🙂

      Seriously, remember that the scene is from Chen’s point of view, and she’s not necessarily savvy as to all the various folds, wrinkles, tides, eddies, and whatever other oddball comparison we want to make.

      I tried to keep things consistent with how Christopher Bennett has endeavored to make sense of the various ways Trek has portrayed time travel across the different series and films, hence the idea of a paradox/not paradox/not yet paradox/never gonna paradox. Is it a branching timeline or a circular time loop? From the perspective of Picard and the gang, they have no way to know (at least not right away), but–in theory–DTI has means of knowing. It’s one of those things I may revisit, if opportunity and circumstances provide an opening that makes sense to pursue.

      Like

  5. Pingback: People in the Future are not pleased. | The Fog of Ward

  6. Pingback: Reader mail, the “Armageddon’s Arrow Edition,” #1. | The Fog of Ward

  7. Pingback: Talking “Armageddon’s Arrow” with Literary Treks! | The Fog of Ward

  8. colin McIntree says:

    I know I’m asking for a spoiler but I’m trying to figure out Temporal Cold War. Are the events and specifically the Arrow ship revelavent/related to the conflict in anyway?

    Like

  9. Donnie Gibson says:

    Dayton,

    And I had trepidations about moving away from the political stories because they’ve been my favorite, but this book was not at all a “filler” and did not seem like an “alien of the week” novel. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Reflecting on that, I realized I made an assumption: that novels focused more on exploration would be divorced from the context of what has taken place and is ongoing in Starfleet and in the Federation. This novel didn’t try to forget any of that, but, in fact, made more sense in the context of what had preceded it in terms of the character’s motivations and desires.

    I finished it yesterday, thinking I could see the Raqilan and the Golvonek return in future novels, novels that, given the location of the Odyssean Pass, could easily tie into the Alpha and Beta Quadrant politics and the Typhon Pact, particularly the Romulans.

    And I just now read your desire to explore some of the not-so-new yet not on-screen developed characters. You did a marvelous job with Rennan, Chen, Šmrhová, and Harstad. I have thought for quite a while that I would like to see the non-screen characters better integrated into the TNG family for numerous reasons, not the least of which is that it would, or should, make the novels richer? Yeah, I think that is it because then they become characters about whom I’m invested. Should they be in danger or worse, then it really matters. I was pleasantly surprised that this novel put them in the front without leaving Picard and the rest sidelined. Kudos. So, maybe Joanna Faur at some point? She seems to be the least developed character these days.

    Thanks for an absorbing read.

    Donnie

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Donnie Gibson says:

    Dayton,

    All that and I forgot to ask my question:
    Was the book Picard was reading to Rene “Strangers From The Sky” or–it’s been a while since I read it–the book within the Bonanno novel?

    Donnie

    Like

  11. Pingback: Reader mail, the “Armageddon’s Arrow Edition,” #2. | The Fog of Ward

  12. Donnie Gibson says:

    Aha. I think I’ve read ’bout 300 Trek novels (or SS) in the past 10 years, and I’m beginning to have trouble remembering exactly what occurred where. Good to know I pulled that one out.

    Donnie

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Talking Writing and Trek With the G & T Show! | The Fog of Ward

  14. Pingback: Shore Leave, vacation, and getting back to it. | The Fog of Ward

  15. Pingback: Talking “Armageddon’s Arrow” and Seekers with Visionary Trek! | The Fog of Ward

  16. Pingback: Looking back at my 2015. | The Fog of Ward

  17. Josh North says:

    when will we find out the content of the classified file sent to DTI? when is the next book in the storyline coming out? would i be correct in thinking that the file sent to DTI is related to the hobus supernova?

    also, with the TNG timeline drawing closer to the hobus event, has there been discussion among the author on how to deal with the aftermath?

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      You want me to spoil the surprises? 🙂

      At the time I was writing, I had a couple of ideas on where to take the story next. I haven’t yet decided which one I’m going to go with. That likely will be a discussion between me and my editor.

      Like

  18. Pingback: Vacation’s over. Back to work. | The Fog of Ward

  19. Pingback: Back cover copy for my next Trek novel: Headlong Flight! | The Fog of Ward

  20. Pingback: Armageddon’s Arrow nabs a Scribe Award! | The Fog of Ward

  21. Pingback: Looking back at my 2016. | The Fog of Ward

  22. Pingback: Headlong Flight | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

