2015 Scribe nominees announced!

iamtwIt’s that time of year, again!

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers (IAMTW) has announced their nominees for this year’s Scribe Awards, as well as the recipient of the 2015 “Faust” Grandmaster Award. I’m not going to steal any of the thunder from the formal announcements, but instead post the organization’s official press releases here. First up? The Scribe nominees, which includes a number of names familiar to me as well as several people I’m proud to call friends:


The Ninth Annual Scribe Awards

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is pleased to announce the Scribe Award Nominees for 2015.

Acknowledging excellence in this very competitive field, IAMTW’s Scribe Awards honor licensed works that tie in with other media such as television, movies, gaming, or comic books. They include original works set in established universes, and adaptations of stories that have appeared in other formats and cross all genres. Tie-in works run the gamut from westerns to mysteries to procedurals, from science fiction to fantasy to horror, from action and adventure to superheroes. Gunsmoke, Ghost Whisperer, CSI, Star Trek, Star Wars, Shadowrun, Underworld, Man from UNCLE, Doctor Who, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, these represent just a few.

The Scribe Award winners will be announced at ComicCon San Diego in July. The exact day, time and location of the Scribes Panel including the award ceremony will be announced shortly.

IAMTW congratulates the following nominees:

24: Deadline by James Swallow
Murder She Wrote: Death of a Blue Blood by Don Bain
Mike Hammer: King of the Weeds by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
Homeland: Saul’s Game by Andrew Kaplan
The Killing: Uncommon Denominator by Karen Dionne

Sleepy Hollow: Children of the Revolution by Keith R. A. DeCandido
Grimm: Chopping Block by John Passarella
Star Trek: Disavowed by David Mack
Star Trek: Foul Deeds Will Rise by Greg Cox
Grimm: The Killing Time by Tim Waggoner
Pathfinder: The Redemption Engine by James Sutter
Fringe: Sins of the Father by Christa Faust

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes by Alex Irvine
Noah by Mark Morris
War of the Worlds: Goliath by Adam Whitlach

Spirit Animals: Blood Ties by Garth Nix and Sean Williams
Battletech: The Nellus Academy Incident by Jennifer Brozak
Penguins of Madagascar by Tracey West

Pathfinder: “Hunter’s Folly” by Josh Vogt
Mike Hammer: “It’s in the Book” by Max Collins and Mickey Spillane
Stargate: “Perceptions” by Diana Botsford
Pathfinder: “Queen Sacrifice” by Steven Savile
Tales of Valdemar: “Written in the Wind” by Jennifer Brozek

Dark Shadows: The Darkest Shadow by Nev Fountain
Dark Shadows: The Devil Cat by Mark Thomas Passmore
Blake’s 7: Fortuitis by George Mann
Doctor Who: Iterations of I by John Dorney
Pathfinder Legends: The Skinsaw Murders by Cavan Scott

Next up? The IAMTW also recognizes one author each year who has made notable contributions to the genre of tie-in writing over a number of years. Past recipients of the Faust Award include Donald Bain, Alan Dean Foster, Keith R.A. DeCandido, William Johnston, Peter David, Kevin J. Anderson, Ann C. Crispin, and Diane Duane. For 2015?


International Association of Media Tie-In Writers 2015 Faust Award

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is thrilled to present the 2015 Faust Award to acclaimed author Terrance Dicks. This award honoring a grandmaster in the field goes to Mr. Dicks for the extensive contributions he has made during his long career.

A driving force behind Target Books’ Doctor Who novels, he wrote over sixty titles, edited and recruited other authors as well. He wrote for the soap opera Crossroads, and co-created and wrote for the series Moonbase 3. He also worked as a producer on Sunday Classics. He authored several children’s series, including about a cat called Magnificent Max and, his longest running, another about a golden retriever The Adventures of Goliath.

The above is just a tiny sample of Mr. Dicks’ vast body of work. The award will be presented at a ceremony in July at Comic-Con in San Diego, where the IAMTW will also be presenting the Scribe Awards, honoring the best tie-ins of the year.

IAMTW (www.iamtw.org) is a professional organization for authors of books based on TV shows, movies, and games. The organization is dedicated educating the public about our field, enhancing the professional status of our members, and to providing a forum for tie-in writers to share information, support one another, and discuss issues relating to our industry.

For more information, contact: tieinwriters@gmail.com

As was the case with many fans, I read a ton of Doctor Who novels and novelizations back in the day, and I still have a fair number of them…most of which were written by Mr. Dicks. Like the previous Faust winners and several people on this year’s list of Scribe nominees, he’s one of the reasons I got into this game in the first place.

Congratulations to Mr. Dicks on his well-deserved honor, and to this year’s nominees!


Lay it on me.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s