Archaeology.

…. “Behind my beloved waterfall, in the little room that was hidden beneath the cave, I
found it. I brushed away the dust of the years, and picked it up, holding it reverently in
my hands. I had no idea what it might be, but it was beautiful” ….
— Alex Lifeson & Neil Peart, “Discovery,” 2112

The things you find when you go digging.

So, today’s expedition involved journeying deep into my rather extensive archives. File cabinets, book cases, vertical files, and even a few boxes in a closet were surveyed as I went hunting for an elusive bit of arcane reference material which I hoped would assist me in the current writing endeavor.

It was while investigating a recently excavated file folder that I happened across this item, tucked between the leaves of some ancient parchment. This artifact from a long-dead civilization appears as pristine as the day sunlight last touched its surface. I wonder what stories this relic could tell, were it able to speak? To what events did it bear silent witness? The truth likely will forever remain a riddle, cast unwanted for all time into the vast darkness of history.

“What can this strange device be?”

Take your best guess, gentle readers.

ancient-artifact

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in jokes, pics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Archaeology.

Lay it on me.

