New trilogy for Trek’s 50th, and we’re writing one of the books!

I received an email about this overnight, so apparently the figurative cat has exited the proverbial bag. Virtual beans have been spilled, and so on and so forth, yadda yadda yadda.

As part of a longer interview with Visionary Trek released last week and in which he discusses the numerous projects on which he’s currently working, friend and fellow word pusher David Mack teased a bit about a new trilogy of novels coming next year from Pocket Books. As with what I suspect are a number of other plans and projects in various stages of plotting and scheming, this trilogy will celebrate Star Trek‘s 50th anniversary next fall.

(Note: And by the way, don’t be hassling Dave. I want to read the original SF novel series he’s writing for Tor, and I can’t do that until he finishes writing the damned thing. So, stay off his back.)

As story outlines have not yet been finalized and approved, there’s really not much we can offer just yet, except to say that all three books will “star” Kirk and the Enterprise crew in their prime, and each book ties into a larger storyline that we hope pays proper tribute to the legacy of the original series, which all of us love rather more than most normal people would consider healthy. The batting order will be:

Book 1 – Greg Cox
Book 2 – David Mack
Book 3 – Me and Kevin

At last report, the books were tentatively scheduled to be released during summer of 2016, and we’re all aiming/hoping that they’ll at least cover the September 2016 slot in some fashion.

The four of us brainstormed on a “trilogy pitch” back around the holidays, and submitted a document that had a 4-6 page high-level proposal for each book. Once that was approved, we all were sent to our corners to write more detailed outlines. As I write this, Greg and Dave are finalizing their outlines, and Kevin and I will be taking those and then finishing up our own proposal while making sure we tie up all the various threads and plot dangly-like things they leave for us.

Obviously, more info will be coming. Stay tuned. 🙂

trek50-logo-small

And yes, I’m rather jazzed at being able to do something for Trek‘s 50th. This is definitely one of those “dream projects.” If you’d told me 15 years ago I’d be doing something like this, I’d have asked you to give me some of what you were smoking. But, here we are.

So, yeah…jazzed.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New trilogy for Trek’s 50th, and we’re writing one of the books!

  1. liquidcross says:

    Holy crap! It’s like the (un)holy trinity of writing teams! This is going to rule.

    Like

  2. Doug Daniel says:

    Huge congratz! Please disregard my seething jealousy….

    Like

  3. Awesome! i am sure the trilogy will be a very fitting celebration, with such talents on deck. Good luck!

    Like

  4. Chris Morningstar says:

    Hey Dayton, you sir, are my favorite author IN THE WORLD. I’m serious. I love your stuff. I’m looking forward to your computer nativity on to this new series. I had an idea for treks 50th… But I’m not an author. I would love to see a book where new jj Abrams universe Kirk and crew are pulled into the 25th century prime timeline due to their “universe” imploding or something and they are refugees in the prime universe, allowing Kirk and crew to truly “live again”. Think you could make a story like that work?

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      Thanks for the kind words. 🙂

      Tie-ins for the “Abramsverse” version of the Star Trek characters/etc. operate under a different licensing agreement than “original recipe” Trek, so there won’t be any crossovers/etc., at least for the time being.

      Like

  5. Tim says:

    Brother I am insanely jealous. Seekers and now this! Thanks for making my retirement better and better.

    Like

Lay it on me.

