When the ideas won’t leave you alone.

writerI’ve been playing around with an idea for an original science fiction concept for a while now. It’s something I hope to expand to (at least) a novel’s worth of fun and excitement at some point, but it’s been an on-again/off-again thing, and usually gets pushed aside so that I can work on projects that are more pressing, or for which…you know…people have already agreed to pay me.

Gotta go where the food is, right?

Anyway, last night while driving the kids back from Taekwondo, I started letting bits and pieces of this still-gestating concept roll around in my head, and a few of them started to stick together. Some of it was ground I’d covered before, but then I started fitting pieces together in new combinations, and I was liking the direction things were starting to flow.

By the time I got home, I knew I wouldn’t be able to work on anything else until I transferred all of this somewhere more permanent than the collection of randomly firing and misfiring synapses that comprise the lump of oatmeal I have the audacity to call my brain. So, there I was, tapping notes into a document on my laptop for later revisiting. After an hour or so, I was satisfied that I’d siphoned off everything of worth from this exercise and stored it for safekeeping.

Right now–at this moment–I don’t know if anything will come of all that chaos, but it’s that early stage, when thoughts and ideas and nuggets of this or that are flying around every which way in your head, that’s always my favorite part of the writing process. This is true whether I’m working alone or brainstorming with others.

Of course, now I have to put a pin in all of that and take care of the work right in front of me, but I suspect I’ll be revisiting this idea sooner rather than later. Still, it’s tempting to want to turn all my attention to this new, shiny bauble. Grr. Argh.

And so it goes.

#AmWriting

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in ramblings, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the ideas won’t leave you alone.

  1. Doug Daniel says:

    You are not alone in your affliction. This past week, as I was desperately pushing forward, trying to finish the draft of my current WIP, I suddenly one day had to put everything down to write four pages on a film idea that’s been rolling around in my head for a while. And, yeah, I totally get the temptation to play with the new toy. Such is the life of a writer.

    Best of luck.

    Like

Lay it on me.

