Cover art for Armageddon’s Arrow!

Now that StarTrek.com has officially spilled the beans, I’m free to babble about this. They’ve just posted the cover art for Armageddon’s Arrow, my forthcoming Star Trek: The Next Generation novel that’s due in stores on or about the last week in May. Wanna see? BOOM:

armageddons-arrow-cover(Click to Biggie Size)

As has been the case for several of the Star Trek novels I’ve written or co-written in recent years, the artwork was created by the incomparable Doug Drexler, with a hefty assist from Ali Ries.

And in case you missed it when I posted it the last time, here’s the copy from the back cover:

It is a new age of exploration, and the U.S.S. Enterprise is dispatched to “the Odyssean Pass,” a region charted only by unmanned probes and believed to contain numerous inhabited worlds. Approaching a star system with two such planets, Captain Jean-Luc Picard and his crew find a massive alien vessel, drifting in interstellar space for decades. Sensors detect life aboard the derelict—aliens held in suspended animation.

Thought to be an immense sleeper ship, the vessel actually is a weapon capable of destroying entire worlds . . . the final gambit in a war that has raged for generations across the nearby system. Now caught in the middle of this conflict, Captain Picard attempts to mediate, as both sides want this doomsday weapon . . . which was sent from the future with the sole purpose of ending the interplanetary war before it even began!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’d been wanting to do Star Trek tale with the TNG crew that plays more to the “exploration” side of things rather than the heavy political stuff that dominated storylines the past several years. I also wanted to do something with more of an original series flavor, where the crew comes across something big and ballsy and unknown and all that other good stuff. Even the title is evocative of stories from the original show, which was deliberate, of course 🙂

So, I guess we’ll see how it goes!

Check out StarTrek.com’s quick preview: FIRST LOOK – Armageddon’s Arrow

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, nerdity, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cover art for Armageddon’s Arrow!

  1. liquidcross says:

    The Doomsday Machine deploying Colonial Vipers? SOLD!

    Like

  2. Dear Mr. Dayton: I have enjoyed reading many Star Trek books for several years now. I was recently inspired with ideas for 4 new Star Trek novels. I am not a writer. I thought you and you Star Trek colleagues could write these books. Could you please contact at my email listed below?
    I believe these books would be big sellers as the 800th Star Trek novels approaches.
    Sincerely, Scott

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      While I appreciate the offer, most writers I know have more ideas for stories than they’ll ever get to write in their respective lifetimes. I have three more Trek books to write once I’m finished with the book I’m currently writing, with proposals for two more stories waiting in the wings, and that’s just the stuff I’ve committed to paper. 🙂

      Like

  3. CopperSol says:

    I’m sure it will be a great story. Personally, you lost me at “from the future.” Why does everything awesome always have to come from the future. Okay, enough soapbox. Still gonna read it, though! 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: February writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  5. Pingback: March writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  6. Pingback: April writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

