Star Trek Phaser Remote: The Unboxening!

Earlier today, I teased my Twitter and Facebook followers with this pic:

Phaser01Whoa, whoa, whoa. What have we here?

Kevin dropped by Ward Manor today, bearing an early Christmas gift. Specifically, he dropped ThinkGeek’s Star Trek Phaser Remote on my pointy little noggin. What was my first reaction as I laid eyes upon this thing?

“What the fuck are you seriously kidding me right now? AAAAAHHHHHHHH!”

So, should we take a look at this bad boy? All righty, then. First up? The box it comes in. Pretty unassuming, and yet oh so enticing, amirite?

Phaser02

Open the box and this slides out. Now it’s getting interesting.

Phaser03

Yep, it looks like the sort of case a new pistol might come in. Hey, I wonder what’s inside?

Phaser04

Everything’s seated in its own little padded compartment inside the case. Clockwise from the top, the components are:

1. The “Type II” upper receiver/cradle for the “Type I” phaser.

2. The “Type II” handgrip/lower receiver, which screws into the upper receiver.

3. The “Type I” phaser itself. This is the heart of the piece, where all of the remote and sound FX functionality is housed. It’s also the piece that you charge.

4. A screwdriver, for connecting the two “Type II” pieces.

5. A stand for displaying the assembled phaser. A USB cord is stored beneath the base.

“Hey, Dayton,” I can hear someone asking, “they even included a screwdriver?” Indeed they did:

Phaser05

That was pretty damned considerate, even for those of us who already have a Swiss Army Knife in our pocket.

Anyway, let’s get on with putting this baby together! The handgrip fits into the bottom of the upper receiver, and is secured by a single screw in the grip’s base.

Phaser06

All that’s left is to snap in the Type I phaser.

Phaser07

Oh. Yeah.

Now we’re ready to play. The remote has three settings: “FX Mode, “Practice Mode,” and “Control Mode.” FX Mode basically just lets you pretend you’re Captain Kirk, with the phaser able to emit nine different phaser-related sounds. All of them are legit sounds from the original series, including an extended “overload” effect. The phaser’s tip also glows different colors depending on which sound effect you select.

Practice mode lets you familiarize yourself with all of the remote’s various “gesture based” actions as you figure out how to program it for your different AV components. The unit can store up to 36 different functions. Control Mode is where you make all of that happen. So, go crazy, and stuff.

There’s a bit of a learning curve involved in setting it up and making it work with your TV, Blu-ray player, and so on. Even if you don’t want to use it as a remote, it’s still awesome. As a prop replica, this has to be one of the most accurate reproductions I’ve ever seen, and definitely top of the heap in this price range. Once assembled, it has heft, like a real pistol. I was gonna say “real phaser” right there, but then I stopped myself, because…you know, wow. And how do you display such a gem? Well, remember that display base I mentioned up top. It’s magnetic, and you just set the assembled phaser on it and you’re done:

Phaser08
Boom.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some pew-pew-pewing to do.

Kirk-Pew

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in fandom, nerdity, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Star Trek Phaser Remote: The Unboxening!

  1. liquidcross says:

    That thing will never be switched off of FX Mode.

    Like

  2. Doug Daniel says:

    It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…..

    Like

Lay it on me.

