November writing wrap-up.

all-the-wordsAnd there goes November, flashing past in my rearview mirror.

:: Whoosh ::

It was a pretty busy month on a few fronts, actually. In addition to starting one novel project, I had to revise an outline for another, and I was jotting notes for two other ones I’ll have to write sooner rather than later. Spirited discussion about still another project began picking up steam during the month’s later half, and there are a few smaller yet still important projects waiting their turn for love and attention.

Therefore, we proceed with haste to the November rundown:

Armageddon’s Arrow – A Star Trek: The Next Generation novel set after the events of The Fall. A copyedited manuscript was delivered to me on November 26th, and I need to have my revisions and whatnot returned to my editor by December 10th. Today was the first day I started looking through that, actually, and I figure I’ll likely be done with it by the end of the week at the latest. If the current production schedule holds, I should see galley pages just after the holidays. The book’s publication date is still set for Tuesday, May 26th, 2015.

Star Trek: Seekers #4 – I spent November writing a goodly portion of the parts of this novel I’ve taken on, and Kevin presently is occupying his own corner and proceeding to work on his bits and stuff. We have regular meetings and checkpoints to make sure we’re still in synch, as is our habit, but at present I’m well ahead of my own schedule for completing my “half” or so. Our manuscript is due in the spring. Unlike the first two books which launched the series, David Mack’s Book 3 and our Book 4 will each be standalone tales “starring,” respectively, the crews of the U.S.S. Sagittarius and Endeavour.

24 novel – After delivering an outline for this to my editor back in August, she and I had a discussion about it which was prompted by a conversation she’d had with her contact at Fox. Following that talk and based on guidance she had received, I was asked to retool my outline accordingly. Thankfully, none of this was prompted by my outline as Fox had not yet even seen it, but rather something more general. As it happened, my editor thought my pitch was close enough to the mark already that my rework actually was pretty limited. I returned a revised outline to her on November 20th, and now I’m just waiting to hear back. I tried to avoid references to “the clock’s ticking” or “I’m watching the clock,” but…aw, damn.

Taking the Plunge” – My monthly contribution to the Novel Spaces blog, which was posted on November 16th. This time around, I ramble a bit about my recent “career change” and taking on the challenge of working full-time as a writer. Long story short? We’ll see what we’ll see.

Ten Favorite Star Trek Behind-the-Scenes Books” – My latest installment in my irregularly recurring blog series for StarTrek.com, “Ten for Ward,” which was published on November 20th.  You can probably discern the gist of the article from its title. 🙂

“Let’s Do the Time Warp Again, and Again, and Again, and….” – My essay for The Sacred Scrolls: Comics on the Planet of the Apes, to be published by Sequart.org. As the title implies, I focused on the use of time travel across the different Apes comics over the decades. I delivered a finished piece back on November 3rd, and after receiving some notes back from my editor I returned a revised version back to him just yesterday. There actually will likely be another revision, once IDW and BOOM! start rolling out their Star Trek/Planet of the Apes miniseries The Primate Directive. The book is currently slated for publication late next spring or early next summer.

Other stuff in the pipeline:

Sequel to From History’s Shadow – I’ve had preliminary discussions with my editor about this, and we are a go. Contracts are on the way and as things stand now, this likely will be the novel I work on after I finish the 24 novel and Seekers #4. I’ve got a slew of notes, I’ve ordered a couple of new books to use for research, and so on. I still need to flesh things out and get everything ordered the way I want it for the outline, of course, which actually is due to my editor very soon after the new year.

Unnamed Star Trek novel – Along with History’s Shadow II, I also was asked about writing something after that. At this point, I don’t even know what it will be…that’s how nebulous things are this far out (we’re talking publication well into 2016, here). But, contracts are coming for that, too, so there obviously will be some serious thinking about it at some point soon.

Tie-in project – For who knows? Believe it or not, I actually got this thing to a point where I was comfortable handing it off to another party for review. Why? Because this project, assuming it goes forward, will entail collaborating with an artist. The person I hope will be that artist is currently looking over the material, and if he decides he wants to play, then we’ll get going on finalizing the pitch and putting it in front of the “right people.” This would be for someone with whom I’ve not worked before, so I’m not sure at this point what to expect, but, I’m definitely jazzed to get this in front of someone, because FUN.

The Adventures of Space Marshal Dylan McCade: There has been some preliminary talk about a follow-up to “The Terror of Entropia’s Ice Cannon!” That first story ended on something of a cliffhanger, setting up something I was calling “The Rampage of the Runaway Moon!” and even though that originally was meant as a tongue-in-cheek salute to Space: 1999, it’s looking like we may well go for developing this notion. The current plan is to collaborate on a story outline, and from there decide how best to proceed. In the meantime, the first adventure is still available for listening and reading at the Dylan McCade’s page on the SciFi Commons website, and it’s all free for your ears and eyes alike. So, if you haven’t yet sampled it, you need to be setting course thataway. I’ll wait.

“The Enterprise Job” – As 2014 marks the 50th anniversary of the building of the original Enterprise model, and with recent news that it will soon be moved to a more prominent location within the Air & Space Museum as well as possibly receiving a new restoration effort, I told myself that I have to get off my ass and get this finished, formatted, and made available for public consumption and ridicule. This means figuring out how best to get it set up for one of the e-Book venues like Smashwords or whatever, as well as making it available for print-on-demand. I know, I know…”it’s coming.”

Possible future projects:

Short film script: Kevin and I hatched this notion a while were talking about some other things we plan to be doing at next year’s Starfest convention in Denver. Now that Kevin has experience writing scripts and access to people and resources looking and willing to film such things, we decided we may have the makings of a fun little project. I also have the idea pretty much written out, already, so it’ll largely be a matter of going in and rewriting/freshening up some bits, formatting a 10-15 minute screenplay from that, and then seeing what the next steps are. Mwuah-ah-hah.

Another tie-in project – Earlier in June, I was recommended to an editor who was just getting going on ramping up several tie-in efforts, all for properties that would be new to me, writing-wise. I was told earlier in August that the property for which I’d submitted a couple of short pitches has been “put on hold,” so I won’t be doing anything with those, at least for a while. I have no idea if anything will come of this, but the exercise has at least brought me to the attention of another editor who seems keen on putting me to work. So, I guess we’ll see.

And yet another tie-in project – For who knows? Kevin and I originally cooked up this notion while we were in Vegas last year. After some himming and hawing, we finally put together a pitch/outline and delivered it for review back in December. I thought the thing had gone dormant or died on the vine, but I was informed back in early summer that it has been passed up the ladder to the next party who needs to weigh in and either approve or reject it. So, who knows? We might have ourselves a ballgame, here.

Military SF story – A while back, I received a copy of a military SF short fiction anthology – the first in what is to be a recurring series of such books – along with a  handwritten note from its editor that read, “Volume 2 is done. Now send me something for Volume 3!” So, you know…I should probably do something about that. I’ve got a couple of ideas percolating; it’s just a matter of putting nose to the grindstone, etc.

Kid’s story book – Though my original idea (an illustrated story book for younger kids…5-8 range, etc.) might not end up going anywhere, a recent discussion has opened a door to possibly getting this going as part of another, larger project. This would be a licensed product, and things are still very nebulous at the moment as different parties weigh in on this or that, but you can be sure that if anything breaks, I’ll be one jazzed geek.

Original SF novel – Another idea that’s been picking up steam in recent weeks. I’ve revisited a file I had started a while back, refreshed some older notes and added some new ones. I think I may be onto something, and I plan to approach at least one editor with it later this summer, once I get a synopsis/proposal roughed out.

And so with all that? Aloha, December.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing, writing wrap-up. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November writing wrap-up.

  1. Which one(s) was/were your NaNo project(s)? I’m sure you shmacked 50k words out of the park; I’m kinda curious as to what you used as your official work.

    Like

Lay it on me.

