“Ten for Ward” #13 at StarTrek.com: 10 Favorite Star Trek “Behind the Scenes” Books.

So, it’s been a while since we did one of these.

The good people over at StarTrek.com, having failed to learn from past mistakes, have opened their virtual doors and provided me with a bit of room to run around over on their site. Once unleashed, I wasted no time spray-painting the walls with yet another installment of my semi-regularly recurring blog series, “Ten for Ward.”

For those of you who are new to the Fog and need an explanation, here’s the deal: I’m invited every so often to provide a list of ten favorite (and hopefully interesting) Trek-related whatevers based on…well…whatever I can think up whenever my editor rings my bell and asks for a new column.

For this latest installment, I list ten of my favorite Star Trek books that take a peek behind the curtain to show us how the various television series (or films) were made. I’m a sucker for this sort of book, and the development and production of the original Star Trek series in particular has always been a favorite topic of mine to revisit. Obviously there are more than ten such books, but I’ve got a whole theme thing going on over there a StarTrek.com, so I had to stick to my guns…all ten of ’em.

What did I come up with?

Ten for Ward #13 – Ten Favorite Star Trek “Behind the Scenes” Books

originalseriesmakingof

As is the case with these columns, mine is not intended to be a “definitive list, so any and all suggestions are more than welcome. Feel free to offer your ideas here or in the comments section for the column itself.

You can also check out all of my “Ten for Ward” columns just by clicking on this logo-ish looking thing right here:

So, who’s got some favorite books like these?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, guest blogging, nerdity, startrek.com, ten for ward, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Ten for Ward” #13 at StarTrek.com: 10 Favorite Star Trek “Behind the Scenes” Books.

  1. liquidcross says:

    Do the technical manuals count? I know they’re presented as “in-universe,” but considering they were created by the same guys who made the stuff work for the show…

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I didn’t list “inside the box” type books for this particular column, but they’ve come up before here and there. I won’t hold it against anyone who chooses to list such titles. 🙂

      (Well, depending on the title, that is……….)

      Like

  2. archersangel says:

    i only have one from that list; inside star trek: the real story (which i think is probably my favorite)

    others that i like;
    star trek the next generation: the continuing mission by judith & garfield reeves-stevens (1997)
    put out tor TNG’s 10th anniversary it covered stuff like costume & set design.

    the world of star trek by david gerrold (1984)
    about TOS with interviews of the major players.

    star trek: action! by by terry j. erdmann (1998)
    a look at a scene (including set designs, props & makeup) from DS9, VOY & the movie insurrection, all of which were filing at the same time.

    Like

Lay it on me.

