Pondering NaNoWriMo 2014.

writerLooking at the calendar, it seems that November is almost upon us. With it, in and around Thanksgiving, holiday shopping and gearing up for the War on Christmas(tm), other folks have decided that November also is a great month to add a writing challenge.

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is an annual event in which those who choose to undertake the challenge strive to write 50,000 words toward a novel during the month of November. By itself, it’s not an unreachable goal by any stretch, but my previous attempts to participate have always ended up being disasters of one sort or another. To be honest, I’ve always thought November was a lousy month for this sort of thing. Trying to balance that effort with the dayjob, kids, chores and tasks to do around the house, and eventually the Thanksgiving and other stuff that happens during the month (people visiting, kids out of school, etc.) always managed to derail me.

However, this year would seem to be different. My dayjob now, essentially, is that of “writer,” so I have every reason to hit the gas and see about knocking out a significant portion of my next novel project in one 30-day sprint, right?

Seems legit.

Is anybody else thinking of giving this a go? Should we form our own little club here? I could post a daily update with my status, and you’d be free to chime in with your own progress reports. No judging or shaming; just a place for us all to cheer each other on as we give NaNoWriMo a run for its money.

Anybody interested? If you want to be “writing buddies,” you can find me on the NaNoWriMo site by clicking on this linky-type thing right here: NaNoWriMo – Dayton Ward

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in friends, nanowrimo, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pondering NaNoWriMo 2014.

  1. Doug Daniel says:

    I am already up to my neck with a work-in-progress, but I can shout encouragement from the sidelines, if you like.

    Like

  2. archersangel says:

    ….but I can shout encouragement from the sidelines, if you like.
    this.

    Like

  3. Eh, I’m convincing myself. I’m going to be less busy this November than I have been in the past.

    Like

Lay it on me.

