It’s an “Ask Dayton” open thread, because why not?

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, and as I’ve continued to receive a steady stream of new followers here as well as on Facebook and Twitter, I figured why not?

The day’s activities call for me to be not all that far from my computer today (writing as well as day job stuff), I don’t see the harm in adding a new “Ask Dayton” open thread to the mix. This shouldn’t be confused with the “Ask Dayton” bit I’ve got going over at the G&T Show, as that’s largely about a curmudgeonly character who barks and snaps his way through all sorts of oddball questions and fanciful queries the askers hope will trip him up, but which usually results in something kinda sorta approaching the realm of “humor.” Even though that dude looks like me, sounds like me, and has the same name as me, we’re two totally different people. He’s sort of like a mirror universe counterpart, except that he–as is the case however many of me there are within all of the countless parallel realities believed to exist–can’t grow a decent goatee to save his ass.

Anyway……

So, here’s the deal, for anyone interested: Ask me anything, if you’re so inclined, and I’ll do my best to provide a brief yet thoughtful answer. If I can’t conjure such a reply, you’ll instead receive a wise-assed comment, created especially for you!

(Though likely written by the other guy. I’m the nice one, remember.)

Asker’s choice, so far as the topic goes, though I reserve the right not to answer anything I deem too personal or inappropriate for this particular venue. Despite setting up this rule, I’ve never actually had to enforce it, but it never hurts to make such things clear up front.

Okey-dokey, then. Who’s got a question?

horshack

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in ask dayton, friends, q&a. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s an “Ask Dayton” open thread, because why not?

  1. vegasgustan says:

    You have talked a lot about how you like to get into fights with idiots in public places. How far has this gone? Fisticuffs?

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I don’t “like” to fight anyone. I simply have no problem wading into the fray if that’s what’s required.

      I can count on one hand the number of actual “fisticuffs” encounters I’ve had, mostly when I was younger and dumber. Most unpleasant encounters have almost always ended with harsh words exchanged. The last time I was in an actual “fight” was years ago at a sporting event. He was drunk, and I should’ve known better, but what the hell. 🙂

      Like

  2. Matt Sullivan says:

    How did someone from Florida end up in Kansas City?

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      I was stationed in Kansas City while in the service. We ended up staying here after I opted not to re-enlist for a third time. If I’d decided to do another hitch, I likely would’ve gone the distance and stayed until I was eligible for retirement.

      Like

  3. Scott Parker says:

    At what age do you let your daughter start talking about boys and dating? As an overprotective father, I’m always curious as to what others think.

    Like

  4. Rob says:

    What is the biggest misconception that fans have about literature based on existing properties?

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      Interesting question, with no one real answer.

      I guess one misconception is how or if studios/property owners/etc. drive storylines, or hand down stories they want written, or whatever. That’s almost always not the case. Writers (and sometimes editors) develop storylines and submit them to the studios for approval. Someone at the studio, often a representative in an office or department overseeing merchandise licensing, reviews such proposals and either accepts or rejects them, or accepts them if certain changes are made. They review the material for consistency with the IP and that it’s properly representing the “brand,” but most of the time writers and editors of such books are left alone once approvals/etc. are given.

      The other big misconception seems to revolve around whether books/etc. are “canon,” or if they should be, or teeth-gnashing that they aren’t, etc. A lot of the times, the word “canon” is used the when the person means “continuity.” Books/etc. based on an IP are usually required to be consistent with the films/episodes so far as continuity is concerned (respecting what’s been established on screen about characters and events, etc.), but they’re not “canon” in the sense that the studio isn’t obligated or even interested in factoring events from such material into their plans for future films/episodes.

      And I guess the other misconception is that fans seem to think we get rich doing this stuff. HAH! 🙂

      Like

  5. My son turns 8 this month and has requested a Boot Camp themed birthday party. What activities would you recommend?

    Like

  6. At the end of your life/career, in your dream scenario, looking back, what would be the highlight? (In other words, do you have a “pipe dream” type ambition for the future? Or have you already done something of which you’re super-proud and satisfied?)

    Like

  7. G.B. Miller says:

    No real question to speak of, other than stating that as a father of a 13 year old girl with a 27 year old attitude, I wish you nothing but the best of luck with yours, although in about seven years or so, you’ll probably have to start doing your best Al Bundy impersonation.

    Like

Lay it on me.

