Seekers and Star Trek book cover love.

The other day, after finally obtaining my very own copy of Second Nature, the inaugural volume of the Star Trek: Seekers novel series I worked with fellow word pushers David Mack and Kevin Dilmore to create, I decided to embrace a bit of whimsy.

So, here’s a pic of the book alongside one of the titles which serves, in a manner of speaking, as inspiration for the series in the first place: one of the classic collections of adaptations of original Star Trek episodes, written by science fiction author James Blish in the 1960s and 1970s. Most of these books featured stunning, stylish cover art back in the day (the original editions of the second and third volumes had photos instead of artwork). As I’ve babbled before, I really love those old covers, as do Dave and Kevin. With that in mind, here’s what I came up with:

seekers1_blish4

I posted this pic over on Facebook, and fans and readers weren’t content to let me have all the fun. Instead, they started posting Second Nature alongside their favorite volumes in the series, so now those who might be curious can see how artist Rob Caswell was inspired to create his own versions of the classic covers, and then later a set of “imaginary” covers for a hypothetical series of Star Trek books he called The Seekers, which in turn led to Dave, Kevin, and I having a big lightbulb go off over all our heads.

Over on his own blog, Dave posted some of the pics supplied by those aforementioned fans:

The Analog Blog: Seekers & Classic Trek, side by side

The Analog Blog: Classic covers & Star Trek: Seekers

Okay, then. That’s enough links, for one post, I think.

And for those who are asking, “Are you gonna do the same thing when Point of Divergence comes out?” The answer is: “Duh. Of course I am.”

Dave’s put out a call for fans to offer up their own pics and send them to him (info on the entries linked above), and feel free to post your photos here, as well.

Go and yet your Seekers on, yo.

 

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, fandom, nerdity, seekers, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

Lay it on me.

