Where No Ape Has Gone Before?

So, this little comics bombshell was dropped today:

StarTrek.com: Star Trek/Planet Of the Apes Crossover Coming Soon from IDW & BOOM!

ST-APES-coverA2

According to the article, “IDW will publish the alternate universe crossover, a multi-issue series that will pair the original U.S.S. Enterprise crew with Taylor, Nova and the cast from the original Planet of the Apes film.”

I think I need a cigarette, and I don’t even smoke. Holy shit, but do I love that cover art.

There was no date in the article, but I figure the series likely will start later this year. I have no idea what mechanism they’ll use to bring the two “universes” together (alternate realities, Q, whatever) but it should prove interesting.

Crossovers are fragile things, and sometimes what sounds good in theory ends up falling short on execution. However, IDW’s had some good outings in this subgenre. I totally dug their Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes crossover, for example, which even though it sounded odd when first announced, ended up being entertaining as hell, all the more so because you could tell the creative team was having a ball with every page. I’m hoping for the same sort of energy here.

Bring it on, you maniacs!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in apes, comics, nerdity, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where No Ape Has Gone Before?

  1. Pingback: More Trek/Apes comic cover goodness. | The Fog of Ward

  2. Pingback: November writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

