Belly of the Beast (or, “Dayton talks to a class of 1st graders.”)

And so it was that on the 27th day of May that our intrepid writer/blogger/dad ventured into the environs of his children’s school, after having been invited by his oldest daughter’s teacher to come and talk to their class about writing, reading, and writing and reading.

What did he find as he stepped through the portal and into the students’ mysterious lair?

village-damned

Okay. Their eyes really weren’t glowing. Not at first, anyway.

While this wasn’t the first time I’ve talked to a class of students, it was the first time I’d addressed a group this young. Despite preparing a few talking points, I went in expecting to “roll with it” so far as fielding questions and the like. A show of hands revealed several kids who liked writing, such as in the journals they all kept during the school year, and even more hands went up when I asked who liked reading (and not just because they’re supposed to read so many minutes each night and have parents record that in the kid’s little notebook). We stressed the importance of keeping up with our reading AND (assuming they wanted to be a writer) writing in our journals over the summer.

The questions I received ran the gamut, including–much to my amusement–some fixation over how much writers make (I tried to let them down easy). All in all, it was a fun day. I’ve already spoken with my kid’s teacher about maybe doing something similar next year, perhaps even having sessions with classes from each of the school’s grade levels.

They’re really going to have tone down that whole glowing eye thing, though. Seriously, kids…that’s just creepy.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in life, writing, writing advice. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Belly of the Beast (or, “Dayton talks to a class of 1st graders.”)

  1. Terry Erdmann says:

    As I told you last week, I do this every year. So from the Voice of Experience: It’s easier with sixth graders.

    Like

  2. Mark Edwards says:

    At least you wern’t their substitute teacher. They would have eaten you alive…then sacrifices you to “He Who Walks Between the Rows” LOL

    Like

  3. G.B. Miller says:

    Glad to hear your day was successful…little childrens can be the death of the strongest man in the universe….

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      Kids are so much fun to talk to, because when they’re into the subject, they’re into the subject. The questions I got were really good ones, and I was having a ball.

      Like

Lay it on me.

