The Hollywood Sci-Fi Museum? GIMME.

I recently became aware of a Kickstarter effort with the aim of acquiring startup funds for the Hollywood Sci-Fi Museum. The folks behind it also are responsible for the ongoing restoration of a U.S.S. Enterprise-D bridge replica which at one time was part of a traveling Star Trek exhibit.

Here, take a look:

Kickstarter: Hollywood Sci-Fi Museum

hollywoodscifimuseum

As described, this is a pretty ambitious undertaking. Since I’m a big ol’ sci-fi nerd, my mouth waters at the very idea of being able to visit a place like this, which wouldn’t just be a collection of memorabilia but instead a repository of science fiction history and a place to learn about and celebrate the genre.

Yes, it’s a bold idea. That’s what makes it cool.

I can’t even begin to imagine the logistical hurdles facing an endeavor of this size. They seem to be taking a measured, patient approach to building out their plans, playing a form of long game that will require trust on the part of the backers they’re hoping to attract. To be honest, I was skeptical when I first heard about it. If this were simply a fan-driven effort, I might’ve dismissed it as an elaborate exercise in wishful thinking, and maybe that’s what it is.

On the other hand, a look at the Kickstarter reveals a “board of directors” that includes several people I know and/or admire and respect. That was what made me take a longer look. If there’s a group of people who can will something like this into reality, I imagine these folks would have to be part of it.

Since I’m still learning about this, it’s possible and even likely that any questions I have are already answered deeper in one of the websites. From a review of the museum’s main site, the obvious emphasis is on sci-fi television and film, but I like that they’re also planning to include SF in prose, comics, and so on. I also like that they’re bringing in exhibits devoted to NASA and how science fiction is continuing to influence real science, space exploration, and so on.

And since they’re planning a “Hall of Space Ships,” maybe they could partner with the team behind the awesome Sci-Fi Airshow website and help to take their idea to the next level by getting us some real full-sized mockups of the Jupiter 2 or the Eagle from Space: 1999, which could be toured and made available for photo ops. Because if we’re gonna do this, let’s go full-throttle, baby.

I’m just being crazy, now…aren’t I?

As I’ve already said a couple of times, this is a pretty grand idea these folks are hoping to pull off, and I hope they can do it, because why the hell not?

Anybody else hear about this? What do you think?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in fandom, nerdity. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Hollywood Sci-Fi Museum? GIMME.

  1. liquidcross says:

    You just want your Planet of the Apes pod.

    Which had better damned well be in that museum.

    Like

Lay it on me.

