Novel Spaces – “Biting the Hand You Hope Will Feed You.”

Today being the 15th and all, that means it’s my turn at bat over at the Novel Spaces blog!

I actually missed my turn last month, due to a host of reasons which all boil down to “Dayton Dumb.” Anyway, I’m back in action again this month, and this time I yammer a bit about something writing-related I read last month over on my Facebook feed, and how it represents an incredibly spectacular way to torpedo your writing career before it really even gets started.

What am I talking about? Well, it’s a classic: Asking someone to read your manuscript (or film or TV script, or comic script or whatever) in the hopes of selling it, and then berating that individual because they obviously lack the vision to comprehend the unparalleled genius they’ve just beheld. Because if there’s one thing that inspires a beleaguered editor to take a chance on a new writer, it’s being told by that hopeful new voice that he or she is an idiot.

That’s a day-maker, right there.

buriedalive

You can read the new piece over at Novel Spaces: “Biting the Hand You Hope Will Feed You.”

For the more experienced writers and editors among us, I’m sure you have your own version of this story. Do tell. 🙂

My Novel Spaces archive.

 

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in guest blogging, novel spaces, writing, writing advice. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Novel Spaces – “Biting the Hand You Hope Will Feed You.”

  1. Eek. People real feel a sense of entitlement, eh?

    But the producer was, after the first exchange, a bit too nice. It’s a tar baby. In the community management biz, we usually give one response and then move on, unless the questions are truly compelling. The guy should’ve said thank you and good luck and then binned any follow ups. Certainly by the first follow up, that should’ve been the strategy. A little negativity from the alleged writer was becoming more and more of a sure thing as the exchange went on. While I realize the producer didn’t want to be mean, the back and forth WAS leading the ‘writer’ on, keeping this nut feeling that his missives were getting some attention. And that if he just kept trying, if he put in the correct configuration of verbs and nouns and whining, that somehow he’d get what he wanted most.

    Anyway, that’s my dos centavos.

    And I have this script …. 😉

    Like

Lay it on me.

