Join the Insect Army!

I’m not a member of SFWA, but I’ve been watching how their current (read: “most recent”) kerfluffle is evolving.

I may have to enlist in Scalzi’s insect army.

Whatever

“The problem is that the ‘vocal minority’ of insects who make up the new generation of writers don’t scramble for the shadows when outside lights shines on them—they bare their pincers and go for the jugular. Maybe it is a good thing that SFWA keeps them locked up. The newer members who Scalzi et al. brought in are an embarrassment to the genre.” — (name withheld) on SFF.net, during the recent unpleasantness.

Heh heh heh.

I realize, of course, that the person who wrote the comment above meant “insect” as an insult. But what do we know about insects? They are numerous, adaptable, highly successful as a class, and, when they put their mind to it, absolutely unstoppable. No wonder this person seems absolutely terrified.

As it happens, I have for a long time said that there are three types of writers: dinosaurs, mammals and cockroaches. Dinosaurs are the writers…

View original post 433 more words

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Join the Insect Army!

  1. Doug Daniel says:

    Okay, I’m not a member of SFF.net (although I’m considering it), so I’m dying with curiosity about the “recent unpleasantness”. No need to name names….

    Like

    • Doug Daniel says:

      Oh, nvm, disregard my low-class gossipy-ness– I’ve done my own research and uncovered some of the details online. Sorry.

      It’s sad the SFF community has what appears to be some serious fractures….

      Like

      • Dayton Ward says:

        Like any group that’s been around for a while, there’s going to be “differences of opinion and perspective” between older and newer members. This one’s just a little crazier than a lot of others, though.

        Like

Lay it on me.

