More TNG music on the way!

Those of you who read this space with any regularity (both of you) know that I loves me my music. Among the many types of music I enjoy there’s film and television series soundtracks. I particularly like these when I’m writing, and it probably goes without saying that I tend to listen to Star Trek music when I’m writing Star Trek stuff. For example, when I write anything original series related, I lean pretty heavily on this mighty collection of music.

Thanks to a fairly recent trend, I’ve been acquiring extended or “complete” versions of film and television scores–editions released long after an original, truncated offering first was made available, such as when an older film was released. Just in the past few years we’ve been able to get our grubby paws on complete scores for the first ten Star Trek feature films, along with all sorts of other movies and television shows. I’ve babbled about some of those, before, too.

During the past couple of years, new editions of music from Star Trek: The Next Generation have been showing up. Last year, I acquired the complete score for the two-part episode “The Best of Both Worlds,” and there was a 3-disc set of music from various episodes. Then there’s that “Ron Jones Project” set, which would require me to donate a kidney in order to purchase.

Next up? An expanded edition of the series’ pilot episode, “Encounter At Farpoint,” as composed by Dennis McCarthy and partnered with never-before released music he created for another first season episode, “The Arsenal of Freedom.” Suh-weet!

tng-farpoint-arsenal-cd

Star Trek: The Next Generation
“Encounter at Farpoint”/”The Arsenal of Freedom”
Expanded Collector’s Edition

Get a load of Beverly’s ‘do, whydontcha. Ah, the 80s.

This disc will be released later this month by GNP Crescendo, who has been putting out Star Trek music dating back to 1982 and Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan. Yeah, I bought it back then.

I suspect this will be a vast improvement in audio quality over the original “Farpoint” CD I bought back in 1987. Judging by the track listing, I don’t know that the “Farpoint” section will be expanded too greatly, but the disc is still worth the pickup for fans of Trek music if only for the “Arsenal” material. One question the page’s info doesn’t offer is whether the “unused main title theme” from the series will be included as a bonus track, the way it was done for the original release.

So, who’s buyin’?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in fandom, music, nerdity, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More TNG music on the way!

  1. OverlordSpock says:

    I’m buying!

    And, according to an article I read on 8 of 5’s Trek Collective, it DOES include the unused theme.

    Like

Lay it on me.

