So, that happened.

Okay, so some of you know I got some cool news yesterday. For those of you who didn’t get the memo, it goes like this:

ward-trek-nyt

(Yes, they forgot to pluralize Kingdoms there, but that’s okay. It’s not like I didn’t know what they were talking about.)

Since word broke, I’ve been asked by a number of people what it feels like, what it means for the future, what I might do for my next trick, and so on and so forth.

Quick answers to those queries:

1) It feels kinda groovy.

2) I have no frappin’ idea.

3) See Answer #2.

My first reaction upon being called with the news was, “HOLY SHIT! THAT JUST HAPPENED.” I then thanked my editor profusely, not just for the news but for all the support she’s given me over the years. I’ve been fortunate to work with some kick-ass editors, including my entire time writing for Pocket Books and their Star Trek line. PeaceableKingdoms-cover

The list of people to thank is a long one. In addition to my editors at Pocket, there’s everyone else who works to get a novel from delivered manuscript to shiny new book for the store shelves (or sparkling electronic file for your e-Reader, tablet, smartphone, or whatever other gadget one might use to read books these days). In the case of The Fall, there’s also my friends and fellow word pushers: David R. George III, Una McCormack, David Mack, and James Swallow. Even though we each went to our respective corners to write our books, the miniseries as a whole was a team effort from concept through all five novels. It was a daunting challenge, but one made all the more fun by being able to face it alongside my colleagues.

There’s my hetero life mate, Kevin Dilmore, who even when he doesn’t share writing duties on a book is there for me to brainstorm with, or just to make sure I get up and away from my desk every so often to do something else besides stare at my computer screen.

My wife and kids gets their own special paragraph for thanks, as they’re the ones who put up with my crazy hours and constant need for time to write on the latest project, and the associated stress and grumpiness that often manifests itself when deadlines are looming and I’m getting fewer hours of sleep per night than I have fingers on one hand. This book was no different.

Then, of course, there’s you, the person reading this who plunked down your coin to buy the book in physical or electronic form. I’m not allowed to give out specific numbers, but I’m told that first week sales of Peaceable Kingdoms were better than any of my previous books. Yes, even the one I wrote about alternate history Steampunk zombie vampire Bigfoot bondage erotica.

Go figure.

Anyway, suffice it to say that a number of people had a hand in this. Thanks very much.

And now? I’m back to work on the next book.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in The Fall, trek, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to So, that happened.

  1. vhosking says:

    How could you not thank me by name? Note – asked dripping with sarcasm for those who can’t read it in my typing.

    Like

  2. Well deserved, even if, in my not-so-honest opinion, overdue… 🙂

    Like

  3. cmdrsue says:

    Congrats Dayton! 🙂

    Like

  4. RJ says:

    Congrats, Dayton! Well deserved!

    Like

  5. Jim says:

    Congratulations! I am within three chapters of finishing P.K. And it is indeed a damn good book. I hope that this one is the first of many more.

    Like

  6. allisonstein says:

    Congrats, dude! You’ve EARNED it!

    Like

  7. liquidcross says:

    Looks like your blog subtitle needs a change: “New York Times bestselling author Dayton Ward’s online man cave. Now with extra Dom Pérignon.”

    Like

  8. ronny says:

    Congrats. This is great news.

    Like

  9. G.B. Miller says:

    Cool beans! Now I know another author who’s on the NYT bestseller list, which means….I can name drop! 😀

    Like

  10. Pingback: January writing wrap-up. | The Fog of Ward

  11. Pingback: My 2014 in review. | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

