The Official Fog of Ward Geeky Holiday Brag Thread!

I think the title is fairly self-explanatory, right?

Growing up a lover of all things science fiction, particularly the variety gracing the airwaves in the form of the original Star Trek, Space: 1999, Battlestar Galactica and The Six Million Dollar Man, Christmas morning often was a time to revel in my budding geekery Santa saw to it that my wish list was fulfilled in one fashion or another.

Dayton-SMDM-Christmas

Despite being an alleged adult, I still receive the occasional geeky gift for Christmas or my birthday, and depending on the item, it can elicit feelings of giddiness rivaled only by those early morning carnage events on the Christmas mornings of my youth.

I’m not the only one, right?

If you received a particularly geeky gift this holiday season, let’s hear about it! Pics if you gottem, but they’re by no means required.

So far, the geekiest gift I’ve received is Star Trek: The Art of Juan Ortiz. It’s a big beautiful book, compiling all of the poster art Mr. Ortiz has created to celebrate the original Star Trek series, with one poster for each of the show’s 79 episodes. As I don’t have the wall space for 79 (more) posters–at least not until I establish a permanent studio/library/museum facility as an add-on to stately Ward Manor–this book is the next best thing.

Whatchoogot?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in fandom, friends, nerdity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Official Fog of Ward Geeky Holiday Brag Thread!

  1. Jim says:

    A long time ago, I bought a paperback copy of a book titled I Am Not Spock by Leonard Nimoy. After I graduated and moved out of the house, I lost track of where that book went. Much to my surprise today, my daughter showed up today with a brand new hard backed copy of that book. It made my day and almost brought me to tears. It was a very Geeky Christmas for me!

    Like

  2. gogator1 says:

    Erica got me Scotty, this yrs. Hallmark Legends ornament. (I opened it before Christmas, so I could display it for the holiday.) Today marks 23 yrs. since I received my very first STAR TREK novels. My ST book for this Christmas was The Poisoned Chalice. I’ve come a long way, in 23 yrs.
    On a side, Christmas 1975: I was holding the same action figure, you’re pictured with, above… Good times.

    Like

  3. vhosking says:

    I got The Final Reflection by John M Ford. There were also some Star Wars hot cocoa mugs given to Dad and the Little One. And someone got a sonic screwdriver that when grandpa heard a 12 year old was excited over a screwdriver couldn’t figure it out. 😉

    Like

Lay it on me.

