The Hunt for Peaceable Kingdoms begins!

We’re a little over a week away from the “official” publication date for Peaceable Kingdoms, my new novel which closes out the Star Trek: The Fall miniseries and (hopefully) completes the race begun by my esteemed writing cohorts–David R. George III, Una McCormack, David Mack, and James Swallow–all of whom where a blast to work with during this project.

The publication date, December 31st, is mostly used for catalogs and computer-driven ordering and inventory systems than anything else, as most mass-market paperbacks don’t have fixed release dates. Long story short? New titles become “available” in a store whenever the individual bookseller gets their stock, enters it into the store’s inventory system, and shelves them. In other words, the book could start showing up anywhere any day now.

So, since we have a few extra days’ advance notice to work with, it seems to be just about time to announce another “mini-scavenger hunt” of sorts.

All righty, then. Here’s the deal:

The first *ten* people who can provide photographic evidence of the new book roaming in the wild (translation: on a store shelf, somewhere) by posting that pic **here in the comments section** will receive an autographed card with the book’s cover art. You know, assuming they want one.

Note: “Here in the comments section” means exactly that. You can post to Twitter, or Facebook, or e-Mail me to let me know you’re closing in on your target, or that you’ve apprehended same, but it only counts if it’s here. Everybody got that? Sweet.

Also, note how it says you don’t have to actually *buy* the book, as I know some folks will be getting an e-Book version and those won’t drop until December 31st, and maybe don’t want to buy a physical copy and yet still participate in the game. So, the “no purchase necessary” caveat is to try and keep things fair. That said, if you want to support my kids’ college tuitions while conducting your hunt, who am I to complain?

If you want to take a selfie of you and the book, that works, but let’s keep it clean…unless you’re reading this and looking to get in on the action and you’re a Playboy Playmate, or something.

I’ve finagled some assistance from my editor to secure said cards for autographing. There might be additional giveaways, but for now? Only ten. In addition to being able to have more “winners” this time around, this also will be cheaper for me, since mailing books to all those non-continental US addresses almost forced me to pawn one of my kidneys for quick cash.

As I rather like my kidneys, we’re going with something different, this time.

All right, listen up, people: Our book has been on the run for a couple of days. Average foot speed over uneven ground barring injuries is pretty much zero since books have no legs. That gives us a search radius of the whole frappin’ planet, with the possible exception of Tampa, Florida, as my mother will already have swept up all available copies.

What I want out of each and every one of you is a hard target search of every bookstore, grocery store, drug store, Walmart, Target, and whatever other retail outlet you can think of in that area. Checkpoints go up at Facebook and Twitter. Your fugitive’s name is Peaceable Kingdoms.

Go get it.

Release the hounds!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, contests, friends, The Fall, trek. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Hunt for Peaceable Kingdoms begins!

  1. Marina Rice says:

    I’m shocked that I was able to find this. Found at Port Charlotte, FL’s Booksamillion!

    Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      That’s a lot of Trek books! You don’t see that so much in stores these days.

      Like

      • ronny says:

        Wow, it’s been years since I’ve seen that many Star Trek books in a store. I think there’s one store left in San Francisco that even stocks them and they have at most 5 or 6 at a time. Fortunately it’s only 3 blocks from my house so it’s making it easy to stop by every day to see if they have it. I’m really looking forward to this book. I’ve read the first 4 in the series and can’t wait to see how it turns out. The contest is just gravy. We’ll see if it shows up in time, sometimes they can be hit or miss.

        Like

        • Marina Rice says:

          I was quite surprised! I hadn’t been in the store in about a month or two, and they had moved the sci-fi section over to the other side of the store. There was actually about five shelves worth of trek books! Didn’t look untouched either.

          …come to think of it, I probably should have stayed and checked out what else they had.

          Like

    • Dayton Ward says:

      “Official notification” that you’re Winner #2. Once this all settles down, I’ll request mailing info offline. Thanks for playing! 🙂

      Like

  2. Jim says:

    Bummer, went hunting this morning and the Hastings bookstore said it won’t be available until next Tuesday. I told them to get their shit together.

    Like

  3. Davis Grayson says:

    I found it in central Florida books a million!!

    Like

  4. Davis Grayson says:

    Hey-0!

    Like

  5. Davis Grayson says:

    Let me try this once more! 🙂

    Like

  6. David Hewitt says:

    Dayton,

    I have found and bought a copy at a Books-A-Million in Huntsville, AL.

    Unfortunately, I need to setup a Flickr or something in order to post the image. Keep up the great work, The Fall has been quite a riveting series.

    Like

  7. In the new books section at SF-Bokhandeln in Stockholm:

    http://imgur.com/iTsWQpJ

    Like

  8. David Hewitt says:

    Great book so far. I had to put it down to keep from reading all of it today. The honey-do list awaits…

    Like

  9. gogator1 says:

    I’ve got it, but I can’t post a picture on here…

    Like

  10. Will Combs says:

    Found it today at Books-a-Million in Jacksonville while out with my folks!

    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BcmW4jbIcAEy7wd.jpg:large

    Like

  11. Margo says:

    Alexa and I found it at the Book Rack of Greeley today…. She was sending you the pic because she couldn’t get it to upload. Does it count that they ordered it in for me?

    Like

  12. Pingback: G & T Show 124 - Naomi Wildman Has Grown Up - G & T Show

Lay it on me.

