I Am the Salamander: A Kickstarter project by Michael Jan Friedman.

Mike’s name is one that’s probably known to a lot of you who read Star Trek novels, or Star Trek comics, or comics in general. He’s written some of my favorite Trek stories over the years, and he’s also one of the genuinely nice guys in this business. Now he’s got something all new and shiny to share with folks.

friedman-salamander

I Am the Salamander
An unusual protagonist and an unusual project
emerge from a veteran author’s love of comic book heroes.

Rather than endure more of my babbling than is absolutely necessary, I’ll let Mike tell you about this himself:

I Am The Salamander is a project that’s been percolating in my brain for so long I can’t remember when it first occurred to me. I feel like I know Tim Cruz as well as I know myself, and I can’t wait to see him inspire kids the way superheroes inspired me when I was young.

Especially kids who are fighting for their lives, and are more in need of inspiration than the rest of us. Because part of what makes Tim unusual is that he’s a cancer survivor.

I know nobody likes to talk about cancer, but I’m taking that chance here. When you read I Am The Salamander, you’ll see why it makes perfect sense for Tim Cruz to have beaten that disease, and why he’s in a position to offer hope to real teens trying to beat cancer themselves.

Because, let’s face it — hope is what superheroes do best.”

Opting not to take the traditional publishing route, Mike is trying something different with this book and hoping to get it directly into the hands of readers. To that end, he’s launched a modest fundraising campaign in the hopes of covering some initial expenses, over at Kickstarter.

You can learn more about the book and what inspired Mike to write it, as well as the Kickstarter campaign, over at the page he’s set up: Support I Am the Salamander. Mike’s also posted a short video in which he talks about the book and what he hopes to accomplish with it.

So, if you’re a fan of Mike, superheroes, comics, and/or cool things that inspire kids and maybe even those with a little kid still lurking deep inside us, I hope you’ll give I Am the Salamander a look-see and–if you’re able and willing–help him out a bit.

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in books, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Am the Salamander: A Kickstarter project by Michael Jan Friedman.

  1. liquidcross says:

    This is definitely worth checking out. I met Mike (and his pal Paul Kupperberg) at a local convention a few months ago, and those two were a riot. I need to check out the other stuff they’ve published on Crazy 8, too.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Announcing PANGAEA: A new SF anthology that needs YOU! | The Fog of Ward

  3. Pingback: Cabal and Other Irresponsible Invocations of The Muse: A Kickstarter project by Michael Jan Friedman. | The Fog of Ward

Lay it on me.

