Let’s be Spam Buddies!

So, this showed up in the comment filter/moderation queue a day or so ago:

Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

In other words…..

spam_zombie2

So far as I was able to determine without actually clicking any links, the site to which the trapped comment linked back is a dating/match-making/hook-up site of some sort from somewhere in Europe. As irony would have it, the comment had been posted to this bit of weirdness I wrote about SEO spammers back in August.

I’ll wait while you conjure a joke or two of your own.

We good? All righty, then.

My favorite part, of course, is this bit:

My site discusses a lot of the same topics as yours….”

Well, that’s certainly not true, but I imagine that if I did write about the same sorts of things that appear to reign supreme over there, I’d be getting shit-ton more blog hits, for sure.

This isn’t the first time I’ve gotten some flavor of this particular bit of spammage,  but like everything else of this sort, it seems to be coming with greater frequency. Obviously the douche nozzles on the other end of missives like this are trying to tunnel their way under the perimeter security barriers surrounding stately Ward Manor, but to what end? I’m certainly not going to write anything suitable for their site, and I damned sure don’t want anything of theirs over here. I mean, I like to think I’ve got the market cornered at this particular blog so far as utterly useless postings and other nonsense is concerned.

Anybody else getting stuff like this?

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in spam, stupid shit. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Let’s be Spam Buddies!

  1. Jim says:

    I haven’t gotten any on my blog since I put up the anti-spam password requirement to comment. I think though it also prevents people from commenting very often because they have to go through the extra step of trying to read that gibberish they have to type to make comment. A double edged sword to be sure.

    Like

  2. I have filters as well, but stuff still gets through. For a while, the spam queue was filled with stuff with links back to dumpster sites. Are they saying my blog is full of s—?

    Like

  3. Oh, and I get a buch filled with line after line of chinese. Who knows what that’s about?

    Like

  4. G.B. Miller says:

    I used to get a boatload of spam that my filter would trap on a daily basis. By far the best one was a guy who would rant about how bad American girls were. Kind of funny actually, ’cause he originally had a blog devoted to that, then when people started labeling his comment as spam (and it was a thing of beauty, as it was almost twice the length of your archive tags), Blogger took away his blog and then his profile. He still reappears from time to time on blogs that still allow Anon comments.

    Like

  5. angus48 says:

    I haven’t been getting hit on my blog so much but they are coming out of the time-space fabric on Google+ and as usual Facebook. Not just spammers but weirdos who out of the blue drop you a “Hi” from India plus and leave the conversation hanging for a day or two. When they return it’s something creepy like; ‘Ow r u?’, ‘Is your family safe?’, ‘Where are you?’.

    This whole blogging and social media thing just seems to open new avenues of screwiness most days.

    Like

  6. angus48 says:

    Reblogged this on Angus48's Blog and commented:
    Commentary on our blog Outer Limits.

    Like

Lay it on me.

