For you fans of 2001: A Space Odyssey….

Check this out:

My hetero life mate Kevin Dilmore turned me on to this deliciously nerdy site, The HAL Project. It figures that this thing has been around for the last four years or so, and I’m only just recently hearing about it. Ain’t that always the case with the really cool stuff?

Anyway….

What is “The Hal Project?” In a nutshell, the site is an elaborate, loving tribute to the HAL 9000 computer from 2001: A Space Odyssey. A series of simulations recreates the various monitor displays seen aboard the spaceship Discovery during the film, including HAL’s ever-watchful, ever-creepy RedEye. The site’s creator, Joe Mackenzie, also has created a cool screensaver featuring all of the computer graphics and other displays he recreated. For example:

I think I might need a cigarette.

In addition to the screen saver and other HAL simulations, you also can find a faithful recreation of the Discovery‘s complete “mission report” as submitted by Dr. Heywood Floyd on December 9th, 2001 (and depicted in the opening moments of 2010). As for the screensaver (with versions for Windows and Mac), that’s available for free, or you can drop a five dollar bill on him for the super fancy deluxe edition. I seem to have found the site at the right time, as Mr. Mackenzie apparently is planning several upgrades and other juicy treats as the HAL Project enters its fifth year.

So, for those of you who didn’t know about this, here’s a little bit of geeky goodness to brighten your Wednesday.

For those of you who knew and didn’t tell me? Yeah, someone would like to have a chat with you….

Related:
Happy 45th Anniversary, 2001: A Space Odyssey!

About Dayton Ward

Freelance word pusher. Husband. Dad. Trekkie. Rush fan (the band). Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Observer/derider of human behavior. I know where my towel is.
This entry was posted in fandom, movies, nerdity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For you fans of 2001: A Space Odyssey….

  1. I’ve been running the advanced full screen edition on my computer for a couple months now. So, I guess I’m in your doghouse. Although I think I posted on the Facebook about it. Sometimes I find myself just sitting and staring at the screen, watching the animations. I love it.

    Like

Lay it on me.

